ID 1601

Parliament of South Australia, House of Assembly election

Election of 15 March 2014

Show full election details

South Australia, House of Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 15 March 2014
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Liberal Party  455,797  44.78  +3.13  22  46.81 
Australian Labor Party  364,420  35.80  -1.67  23  48.94 
Australian Greens  88,600  8.70  +0.59     
Family First  63,575  6.25  +0.87     
Independents  27,613  2.71  -1.99  2.13 
Independent (Brock)  10,342  1.02  2.13 
Dignity 4 Disability  5,934  0.58  +0.45     
National Party  1,328  0.13  -0.92     
FREE Australia Party  247  0.02  -0.13     
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 1,017,856  100.00    47  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Premier in office at election: There had been a change of Premier since the previous general election for the House of Assembly in March 2010. At a confidential meeting in February 2011, Premier Rann agreed with senior members of the Australian Labor Party in South Australia to resign in March 2012 if the party agreed on a successor. During 2011, pressure mounted on Premier Rann to resign in favour of Jay Weatherill, a minister in the Rann government. An arrangement was finally struck that Rann would resign on 20 October 2011. For a survey of the political context of this change of party leader, see Haydon Manning, 'South Australia', Australian Journal of Politics and History, Australian Political Chronicle, July-December 2011, 58 (2) June 2012: 314-321 at 314-317.

Government in office after election: The Australian Labor Party government lost its majority in the House of Assembly at this election (2014), winning only 23 of the 47 seats in the Assembly; the Liberal Party gained 22 seats, and Independents 2. After negotiations with the leaders of the Labor and Liberal parties, Independent member Geoff Brock agreed to support the Labor Party and become a minister in a Labor Party and Independent coalition government which had a majority of 1 on the floor of the Assembly.

By agreeing to accept ministerial office, Geoff Brock became part of a coalition government; if he had simply agreed to support the Labor Party in the Assembly without becoming a minister, the government would have been a minority Labor government. Premier Weatherill became leader of an Australian Labor Party and Independent coalition government.

Independents and Independent (Brock): The votes and seats allocated to Independents in the table above were gained by candidates who ran for office at this election (2014) without any party affiliation. Of these Independent candidates, two were elected to the House of Assembly; Geoffrey Brock (electoral district of Frome), and Bob Such (electoral district of Fisher). As Brock agreed to support the government and accept a ministry, his votes and seat are shown separately. The vote for all Independents, including Brock, was 37,955.


Results calculated from the Electoral Commission of South Australia '2014 General Election Results', on line at: [accessed 4:00am 25 March 2014]