ID 1426

Parliament of Queensland, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 28 April 1888

Show full election details

Queensland, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 28 April 1888
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Independents (no disciplined party groupings)        72    100.00 
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 0.00    72    100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart


Election dates:. Elections were held over the period from 25 April to 26 May 1888.

Premier in office after election:

Electoral system and franchise: The Electoral Districts Act of 1887 had enlarged the Assembly to 72 members chosen from 48 single member electoral districts and 12 two-member districts (60 electoral districts in total).

Missing data:


Murray Campbell (edited by Glenn Rhodes & illustrated by Mac Vines), Elections Queensland, ([Brisbane]: Electoral Commission of Queensland, 1998, ISBN 0724250077); Parliament of Queensland 'Queensland Electoral and Parliamentary History: Key Dates and Events', Queensland Parliament website: [accessed 20 October 2011].