ID 1037

Parliament of New South Wales, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 18 November 1880

Show full election details

New South Wales, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 18 November 1880
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Independents (No disciplined party groupings)  178,807  100.00  0.00  108  14  100.00 
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 178,807  100.00    108  14  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart


Election dates: Elections were held over the period from 17 November to 2 December 1880 (nominations were open from 15 to 25 November 1880).

Electoral system: New electoral legislation was passed in 1880 which allowed extra members to be added to electoral districts as their population grew; see Clune and Griffith, p. 34, (see 'Sources', below). At this election, the Assembly had 108 members chosen from 43 single member electoral districts, 25 two-member districts, 1 three-member district, and 3 four-member districts (72 electoral districts in total). For information on the electoral system established by the 1858 Electoral Act, much of which applied to this election, see the notes to the 1859 New South Wales Legislative Assembly election and, for a description of the style of electioneering, see the Glossary entry elections in New South Wales, 1859 to 1887.

References: For a description and analysis of the style of parliamentary government in this period, see P Loveday and A W Martin, Parliament, Factions and Parties: The First Thirty Years of Responsible Government in New South Wales, 1856-1889, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1966), and for comprehensive information on the Parliament of New South Wales during this period, see Clune and Griffith, ch. 1, (see 'Sources', below).


Election details are taken from the extensive information for each Legislative Assembly election provided by Antony Green in 'New South Wales Election Results 1856-2007', displayed on the Parliament of New South Wales website at: .

Summary electoral information and electoral maps can be found in Eamonn Clifford, Antony Green and David Clune (editors), The Electoral Atlas of New South Wales 1856-2006, (Bathurst NSW: New South Wales Department of Lands, 2006, ISBN 9780975235423); see also David Clune and Gareth Griffith, Decision and Deliberation: The Parliament of New South Wales 1856-2003, (Sydney: Federation Press, 2006, ISBN 186287591X).