ID 1033

Parliament of New South Wales, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 3 December 1869

Show full election details

New South Wales, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 3 December 1869
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Independents (No disciplined party groupings)  87,137  100.00  0.00  72  11  100.00 
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 87,137  100.00    72  11  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart


Election dates: Elections were held over the period from 3 December 1869 to 10 January 1870 (nominations were open from 2 to 27 December 1869).

Premier in office at election: There had been two changes of premier since the 1864 election: Cowper was replaced as premier by Martin on 22 January 1866; Robertson replaced Martin as premier on 27 October 1868; for details and references, see the 'Governments' section of this website.

Premier after election: Robertson retained support for his government at the election but resigned the premiership in favour of Cowper on 13 January 1870 immediately after the election; for details and references, see the entries for these premiers in the 'Governments' section of this website; see also after election.

Electoral system: At this election, the Assembly had 72 members chosen from 52 single member electoral districts, 6 two-member districts, and 2 four-member districts (60 electoral districts in total); for information on the electoral system established by the 1858 Electoral Act which applied to this election, see the notes to the 1859 New South Wales Legislative Assembly election and, for a description of the style of electioneering, see the Glossary entry elections in New South Wales, 1859 to 1887.

Total ballots cast and turnout: As plural voting was permitted, the number of ballots cast at this election (87,046) was greater than the number of voters. Without accurate figures for the number of voters, the turnout rate cannot be calculated.

References: For a description and analysis of the style of parliamentary government in this period, see P Loveday and A W Martin, Parliament, Factions and Parties: The First Thirty Years of Responsible Government in New South Wales, 1856-1889, (Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1966), and for comprehensive information on the Parliament of New South Wales during this period, see Clune and Griffith, ch. 1, (see 'Sources', below).


Election details are taken from the extensive information for each Legislative Assembly election provided by Antony Green in 'New South Wales Election Results 1856-2007', displayed on the Parliament of New South Wales website at: .

Summary electoral information and electoral maps can be found in Eamonn Clifford, Antony Green and David Clune (editors), The Electoral Atlas of New South Wales 1856-2006, (Bathurst NSW: New South Wales Department of Lands, 2006, ISBN 9780975235423); see also David Clune and Gareth Griffith, Decision and Deliberation: The Parliament of New South Wales 1856-2003, (Sydney: Federation Press, 2006, ISBN 186287591X).