ID 0793

Commonwealth Parliament, Senate election in New South Wales

(for more information on this election see national summary for the Senate)

Election of 1 December 1984

Show full election details

Senate votes and seats won, and seats held in New South Wales

Display Chart

Election held on 1 December 1984
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won by ticket n Seats won by ticket % Seats won by party n Seats won by party % Seats held by party n Seats held by party %
Australian Labor Party  1,268,489  41.57  -1.48  42.86  42.86  50.00 
Liberal Party - National Party (joint ticket)  1,130,601  37.05  +2.39  42.86         
Nuclear Disarmament Party  294,772  9.66           
Australian Democrats  223,095  7.31  -0.50  14.29      8.33 
Call to Australia Party  109,046  3.57  +0.39           
Liberal Party            28.57  33.33 
National Party            14.29  8.33 
Votes for other than listed parties 25,689 0.84 -10.45             
Totals 3,051,692  100.00    100.00  85.71  12  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


See the Glossary of this website for information on Senate elections and details of the distinction between 'Seats won by ticket' and 'Seats won by party', and between 'Seats won' and 'Seats held'. The increase in the membership of the Senate from 64 to 76 (an increase from 10 to 12 senators from each state) required the election of 7 senators from each state at the 1984 election (5 existing Senate vacancies in each state and an additional 2 vacancies to bring each state delegation of senators to 12). Regular half Senate elections after 1984 are for 6 senators from each state.


Colin A Hughes, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics, 1975-1984, Rushcutters Bay, NSW: Australian National University Press, 1986 (ISBN 008033038X); Gerard Newman, Federal Election Results 1949-2001, Canberra: Commonwealth Parliament, Department of the Parliamentary Library, Information and Research Services, Research Paper 9 2001-02, 2002 (ISSN 13287478).