ID 0507

Parliament of Western Australia, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 14 February 1953

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Legislative Assembly
Western Australia
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day)
14 February 1953

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election)
Premier's party affiliation
Liberal and Country League
Legislative Assembly support for government at election
Coalition Minority
If coalition, coalition partner(s)
Country and Democratic League

Government in office after election

Premier's party affiliation
Australian Labor Party
Legislative Assembly support for government after election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of Assembly seats
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Adult franchise at 21 years; single member districts; preferential voting (AV), compulsory preferences; compulsory voting

Western Australia, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 14 February 1953
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party  93,157  49.76  +7.92  26  12  52.00 
Liberal & Country League  74,042  39.55  +1.25  15  30.00 
Independents  7,326  3.91  -1.89     
Country and Democratic League  5,991  3.20  -7.60  18.00 
Independent Liberal  3,663  1.96  -0.29     
Communist Party  2,022  1.08  +0.72     
All Parties Administration  996  0.53     
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 187,197  100.00    50  22  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Premier after election: Following the defeat of the McLarty Liberal Country League and Country and Democratic League coalition minority government at the general election on 14 February, McLarty resigned and an Australian Labor Party majority government led by Premier Hawke was commissioned on 23 February 1953.

Australian Labor Party: For a study of the Australian Labor Party in Western Australia which includes this period, see Ralph Pervan and Douglas Mitchell, 'The Changing Nature of the Australian Labor Party', in Ralph Pervan and Campbell Sharman (editors), Essays on Western Australian Politics, pp 129-158, (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 1979, ISBN 0855641495), and see 'References', below.

Liberal and Country League: In 1949, a public meeting '... attended by several hundred people from various parts of the state approved the formation of the Liberal and Country League (LCL) .... The Liberal Party agreed to submerge its identity in the new party...' David Black, 'The Liberal Party and its Predecessors', in Ralph Pervan and Campbell Sharman (editors), Essays on Western Australian Politics, pp 191-232, at p.218 (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 1979, ISBN 0855641495). Black argues that this change of name was part of a continuing struggle between the Liberal Party and the Country Party; see 'References', below).

Country Party and Country and Democratic League: The Country Party had changed its name in 1944 to the Country and Democratic League as a sign of the party's intention to widen its electoral appeal (see the notes for the 1947 Legislative Assembly elections); the parliamentary party -- but not the organization -- reverted to the name Country Party in 1949. Nonetheless, after the electoral changes of 1947, demographic trends and competition from the Liberals, the party struggled to maintain its representation; see Lenore Layman, 'The Country Party: Rise and Decline', in Ralph Pervan and Campbell Sharman (editors), Essays on Western Australian Politics, pp 159-190, (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 1979, ISBN 0855641495), and 'References', below

All Parties Administration: This party had been formed in the 1940s and argued against single party governments and in favour of joint party administrations; it had contested elections in a variety of electoral forums across Australia, see Dean Jaensch and David Mathieson, A Plague on Both Your Houses: Minor Parties in Australia, p.43 (St Leonards, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 1998, ISBN 1864484217).

References: For the political context of this election (1953), see David Black, 'The Liberals Triumphant: The Politics of Development 1947-1980', in C T Stannage (editor), A New History of Western Australia, pp 441-470, at pp 445-447, (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 1981, ISBN 0855641819).

For an overview of the context of Western Australian parliamentary and electoral politics in this period, see Lenore Layman, 'Continuity and Change 1947-1965', in David Black (editor), The House on the Hill: A History of the Parliament of Western Australia 1832-1990, pp 153-183, (Perth: Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, Parliament of Western Australia, 1991, ISBN 0730939839).


Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700); Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, Voting for the South Australian, Western Australian and Tasmanian Lower Houses 1890-1964, (Canberra: Department of Political Science, Research School of Social Sciences, Australian National University, 1976, ISBN 0708113346); David Black, Election Statistics Legislative Assembly of Western Australia 1890-1996, Listed Alphabetically by Constituency, (Perth: Parliament of Western Australia and Western Australian Electoral Commission, 1997); and David Black. An Index to Parliamentary Candidates in Western Australian Elections State and Federal 1890-2006, 2nd edition, (Perth: Parliament of Western Australia, 2006, ISBN 1920830774).