ID 0424

Parliament of Tasmania, House of Assembly election

Election of 3 June 1925

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the House of Assembly
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day)
3 June 1925

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election)
Premier's party affiliation
Australian Labor Party
House of Assembly support for government at election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Government in office after election

Premier's party affiliation
Australian Labor Party
House of Assembly support for government after election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of Assembly seats
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Adult franchise at 21 years; multimember districts; proportional representation by the single transferable vote method (STV)

Tasmania, House of Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 3 June 1925
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party  36,631  48.47  +11.73  16  53.33 
Nationalist Party (Nationalists)  21,932  29.02  -11.40  23.33 
Liberal Party  7,815  10.34  13.33 
Independents  6,585  8.71  +1.18  10.00 
Independent Labor   2,604  3.45  +2.14     
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 75,567  100.00    30  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Premier in office at election: There had been three changes of Premier in the period since the previous House of Assembly election in June 1922. Lee, the Premier of a minority Nationalist Party government immediately after the 1922 election, resigned in August 1922 over the formation of a coalition government with the newly formed Country Party. In his place, Hayes was chosen by a joint meeting of the Nationalist and Country Party parliamentary members and commissioned as Premier of a Nationalist Party and Country Party coalition government on 12 August 1922.

After disagreement within the coalition cabinet over the response to problems with the State railways, Hayes resigned on 14 August 1923, and Lee was again commissioned as Premier of a Nationalist Party minority government. This government lasted for two months before dissidents within the Nationalist Party joined with Labor Party members to defeat Lee and prompt his resignation on 25 October 1923. Lee was refused a dissolution of the House of Assembly because the Administrator (acting Governor) had been assured that Lyons, the leader of the Australian Labor Party opposition, could secure majority support in the House of Assembly. Lyons was commissioned as Premier of an Australian Labor Party minority government supported by seven dissident Nationalist Party members. For summary details and references for each of the of these changes of Premier, see Hughes and Graham, pp 258-260 (see 'Sources', below) and the entries for each Premier in the 'Periods in office' component of this website.

Government in office after election: The Lyons government won popular endorsement at the House of Assembly election in June 1925 (this election), winning 16 of the 35 seats; Lyons became Premier of an Australian Labor Party majority government.

Electoral system and voting: The Constitution Amendment Act 1906 '...reduced the number of Assembly districts to five, the boundaries of which were to be identical with the five Commonwealth electoral districts. The Assembly was to number 30 members, with 6 elected from each district', Bennett and Bennett, p.12, (see 'Sources', below). The Electoral Act 1907 introduced proportional representation by the single transferable vote (STV) method to elect all members of the Assembly, a method which became known as the Hare-Clark system. For details of the adoption of STV and references on the operation of the electoral system, see the notes to the 1909 House of Assembly elections; for a brief summary of changes to the electoral system from 1909 to 1994, see Terry Newman, Representation of the Tasmanian People, Expanded edition 1803-1994, Appendix 2 (Hobart: Tasmanian Parliamentary Library, 1994, ISBN 0724642475).

The Electoral Amendment Act of 1917 provided that '...casual vacancies be filled, not by a fresh poll of the electorate [by-election] but by a re-count of the ballot papers which elected the vacating member. Candidates at the preceding general election were required to apply to be considered candidates....', Hughes and Graham, 1890-1964, p. 590 (see 'Sources', below).

Liberal Party: Anti-Labor Party groups formed a National Federation in January 1925 in preparation for an electoral campaign '... but alienated many parliamentarians when it tried to introduce a candidates' pledge. It disbanded and the parliamentarians formed a Tasmanian Liberal Party with [Edward] Hobbs as leader; however, several Nationalist members remained outside this new group and recognised [former Premier] Lee as their leader', Hughes and Graham, p. 602 (see 'Sources', below). Note that the party name 'Liberal Party', had been used by candidates for House of Assembly elections from 1912 to 1916, and was to re-emerge in 1946 with the formation of the current Liberal Party.

Independents: The vote shown for Independents in the table above is the vote gained by six candidates who ran for election without any stated party affiliation, thee of whom, D N Cameron, P Murdoch and J P Piggott were elected.

References: For a description of the style of elections and parliamentary government in this period, see W A Townsley, 'Electoral Systems and Constituencies', and John Reynolds, 'Premiers and Political Leaders', in F C Green (editor), Tasmania: A Century of Responsible Government 1856-1956, (Hobart: L G Shea, Government Printer, [1956]), W A Townsley, Tasmania From Colony to Statehood 1803-1945, (Hobart: St David's Park Publishing, 1991, ISBN 0724625753), and Richard Davis, Eighty Years' Labor: The ALP in Tasmania, 1903-1983, (Hobart: Sassafras Books and the History Department, University of Tasmania, 1983, ISBN 0859012212).


Information for this election was taken from 'House of Assembly Election Results, 1909-2006', Tasmanian Parliamentary Library, Tasmanian Parliament website: ; Scott Bennett and Barbara Bennett, Tasmanian Electoral Handbook, 1851-1982, (Kensington, NSW: Reference Section of History Project Incorporated, University of New South Wales, 1983); Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700); and note Report on General Election, 3rd June 1925, (Hobart: Tasmanian Parliamentary Papers, 1926), online at: