ID 0388

Parliament of South Australia, House of Assembly election

Election of 26 March 1927

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the House of Assembly
South Australia
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day)
26 March 1927

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election)
Premier's party affiliation
Australian Labor Party
House of Assembly support for government at election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Government in office after election

Premier's party affiliation
Liberal Party
House of Assembly support for government after election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)
Country Party

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of Assembly seats
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Not applicable
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Electoral system
Adult franchise at 21 years, multimember districts, first past the post (plurality) voting

South Australia, House of Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 26 March 1927
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party  243,450  47.99  -0.37  16  34.78 
Liberal and Country Party Coalition  230,667  45.47  28  60.87 
Independents  22,643  4.46  +4.00  2.17 
Independent Protestant Labor Party  10,560  2.08  2.17 
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 -0.55       
Totals 507,320  100.00    46  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Electoral districts were divided into 3 member and 2 member districts and the electoral system permitted voters to cast more that one vote. Premier in office at election: Hill replaced Gunn as premier on 28 August 1926.


Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700).