ID 0333

Parliament of New South Wales, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 25 March 1995

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Legislative Assembly
New South Wales
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day)
25 March 1995

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election)
Premier's party affiliation
Liberal Party
Legislative Assembly support for government at election
Coalition Minority
If coalition, coalition partner(s)
National Party

Government in office after election

Premier in office after election.
Premier's party affiliation
Australian Labor Party
Legislative Assembly support for government after election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of Assembly seats
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Universal franchise at 18 years (from 1973); single member districts; preferential voting (AV); optional preferences; compulsory voting

New South Wales, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 25 March 1995
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party  1,408,616  41.26  +2.21  50  50.51 
Liberal Party  1,121,190  32.84  -1.31  29  29.29 
National Party  378,878  11.10  +0.58  17  17.17 
Independents  160,169  4.69  -3.67  3.03 
Australian Democrats  97,166  2.85  -2.51     
Greens  87,862  2.57  +2.04     
Call to Australia  49,317  1.44  +0.25     
Australians Against Further Immigration  38,016  1.11     
No Aircraft Noise Party  32,309  0.95     
Non-Aligned Candidates  7,076  0.21     
Natural Law Party  7,053  0.21     
Citizen Opinion Law Order Capital Punishment  6,455  0.19     
Environment Independents  5,060  0.15     
Country Party [1995]  3,983  0.12     
Socialist Labor League  2,252  0.07  +0.06     
Democratic Socialist Party  2,234  0.07     
Transport Action Group  2,188  0.06     
Save Our Shire  1,585  0.05     
Stop Dual Occupancy  1,102  0.03     
Confederate Action Party  1,095  0.03     
Citizens Electoral Council  156  0.00  -0.16     
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 3,413,762  100.00    99  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Premier in office at election: There had been a change of Premier since the previous election; Greiner had been forced to resign as Premier and Fahey was chosen to replace him from 24 June 1992 as Premier of a Liberal Party and National Party coalition minority government.

When Terry Metherell failed to be reappointed to the ministry after the 1991 election, he resigned from the Liberal Party and sat in the Assembly as an Independent, further weakening the position of the Greiner coalition minority government. In April 1992, Metherell resigned his seat in the Legislative Assembly providing the Liberal Party with the opportunity to regain control of the seat at a by-election. '[Metherell's] appointment to a senior public service role led to an inquiry by the Independent Commission Against Corruption; its report released on 19 June 1992 was critical of [Premier] Greiner's and [Environment minister Tim] Moore's parts in the affair. Proposals for a motion of confidence led to their resignations on 24 June; [Michael] Yabsley, who supported them, also resigned. Fahey was elected leader and [Bruce] Baird deputy leader. The ICAC findings against Greiner and Moore were subsequently overturned in the NSW Court of Appeal', Hughes, p. 54 (see 'Sources', below); for more details of these events, see Smith, '1995', pp. 323-328 (see 'Reference', below).

Parliament and the role of Independents: Independent members of the Legislative Assembly had initiated significant changes in the operation of parliament through their 'Charter of Reform'. They had also played a major role in the legislative programs of the both Greiner and Fahey governments and were critical players in the downfall of Premier Greiner; see Smith, '1995', pp. 323-331 (see 'Reference', below), and David Clune and Gareth Griffith, Decision and Deliberation: The Parliament of New South Wales 1856-2003, pp. 539-567, (Sydney: Federation Press, 2006, ISBN 186287591X).

Government after election: After a delay until the counting of votes in close contests was completed, the Australian Labor Party won 50 of the 99 seats in the Legislative Assembly and Carr formed a majority Labor Party government dependent on the casting vote of the Speaker; see Smith, pp. 357-358 (see 'Reference', below).

Referendums on fixed term parliaments and judicial independence: Constitutional referendums were held on the same day as the 1995 general election. The first referendum proposal required governments to serve out a full four year term with elections to be held in March unless the government was defeated in the Legislative Assembly on a matter of confidence. This proposal passed by 2,449,796 votes to 795,706; see Anne Twomey, The Constitution of New South Wales, p. 319 and pp. 649-651, (Sydney: Federation Press, 2004, ISBN 1862875162), and Smith p. 363 (see 'Reference', below).

The second referendum proposal entrenched the independence of the judiciary in New South Wales and passed by 2,225,166 votes to 1,151,255; see Anne Twomey, The Constitution of New South Wales, p. 319, (Sydney: Federation Press, 2004, ISBN 1862875162), and Smith p. 363 (see 'Reference', below).

Independents: At this election, there were 51 Independent candidates and 72 candidates from unlisted minor parties.

Reference: For a comprehensive survey of this election and the preceding period, see Tony Smith, '1995', in Michael Hogan and David Clune (editors), The People's Choice: Electoral Politics in 20th Century New South Wales, vol. 3 (1968-1999), pp. 323-368, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales and University of Sydney, 2001, ISBN 0909907412).


Antony Green, NSW Elections 1995, p. 3, (Sydney: New South Wales Parliamentary Research Service, Background Paper 1995/4,1995, ISSN 1320-4521; ISBN 0731059212), online here [accessed 13 August 2015]; Colin A Hughes, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1985-1999, pp. 304-306, (Sydney: Federation Press, 2002, ISBN 1862874344); New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 7-15, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999).