ID 0330

Parliament of New South Wales, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 24 March 1984

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Legislative Assembly
New South Wales
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day)
24 March 1984

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election)
Premier's party affiliation
Australian Labor Party
Legislative Assembly support for government at election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Government in office after election

Premier's party affiliation
Australian Labor Party
Legislative Assembly support for government after election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of Assembly seats
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Universal franchise at 18 years (from 1973); single member districts; preferential voting (AV); optional preferences; compulsory voting

New South Wales, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 24 March 1984
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party  1,465,957  48.75  -6.97  58  58.59 
Liberal Party  967,395  32.17  +4.55  22  22.22 
National Party  326,057  10.84  15  15.15 
Independents  130,013  4.32  +1.53  3.03 
Australian Democrats  85,604  2.85  +0.42     
Independent Country Party  25,227  0.84    1.01 
Votes for other than listed parties 6,657 0.22 +0.22       
Totals 3,006,910  100.00    99  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


National Party: The National Country Party changed its name to the National Party in 1982; see Turner, p. 231 (see 'References', below).

Independent Country Party: Some members of the National Party caucus were uncomfortable with dropping the word 'Country' from the Party's name. Bruce Duncan withdrew from the Party and ran successfully as the Independent Country Party candidate for Lismore; Turner, pp. 231, 244 (see 'References', below).

Independents: The number of Independent and unlisted minor parties candidates increased to 44 at this election, 39 of whom were Independents; see Turner, pp. 241-243 (see 'References', below).

References: For a comprehensive survey of this election and the preceding period, see Ken Turner, '1984', in Michael Hogan and David Clune (editors), The People's Choice: Electoral Politics in 20th Century New South Wales, vol. 3 (1968-1999), pp. 215-249, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales and University of Sydney, 2001, ISBN 0909907412); note also Green (see 'Sources', below).


Antony Green, NSW Elections 1984 to 1991: A Comparative Analysis, p. 5, (Sydney: New South Wales Parliamentary Library, Current Issues: Background Paper, 1994, ISSN 0817-3796; ISBN 0724095632); Colin A Hughes, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1975-1984, pp. 189-196, (Rushcutters Bay, NSW: Australian National University Press, 1986, ISBN 008033038X); New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 7-15, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999).

There are some inconsistencies in the reporting of the voting figures for this election in the published sources above; the results listed by Antony Green have been used by this database. See also, Electoral Commissioner for New South Wales, General Election for Legislative Assembly: Statistical Returns, (Sydney: New South Wales, State Electoral Office, ISSN 0157-5902).