ID 0323

Parliament of New South Wales, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 1 May 1965

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Legislative Assembly
New South Wales
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day)
1 May 1965

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election)
Premier's party affiliation
Australian Labor Party
Legislative Assembly support for government at election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Government in office after election

Premier's party affiliation
Liberal Party
Legislative Assembly support for government after election
Coalition Minority
If coalition, coalition partner(s)
Country Party

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of Assembly seats
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Universal franchise at 21 years; single member districts; preferential voting (AV); compulsory preferences; compulsory voting

New South Wales, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 1 May 1965
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party  883,824  43.31  -5.26  45  47.87 
Liberal Party  807,868  39.59  +4.73  31  32.98 
Country Party  208,826  10.23  +0.86  16  17.02 
Independents  84,080  4.12  -0.96  2.13 
Democratic Labor Party  43,109  2.11  +0.62     
Communist Party  13,082  0.64  +0.01     
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 2,040,789  100.00    94  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart


Premier in office at election: There had been a change of Premier since the previous election; 'On 28 April Heffron retired. On 29 April caucus elected Renshaw as leader and filled the vacancy in cabinet', Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, p. 84, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700). For the circumstances of Heffron's retirement, see the notes for the entry 'Heffron' in the 'Governments' section of this database.

Government after election: The Renshaw Labor government was defeated at the election '...but determination of the result was slow. On 11 May, Renshaw saw the Governor and Askin was commissioned;...', Hughes, p. 23 (see Hughes, 1965-1974 in 'Sources', below). Askin formed a Liberal Party and Country Party coalition minority government which held 47 of the 94 seats in the Legislative Assembly, and relied on two conservative independents to maintain a majority. The government won an additional seat from the Labor Party at the Bathurst by-election held on 6 May 1967 and secured majority support for the coalition until the next election in 1968

Reference: For a comprehensive survey of this election, see Chris Puplick, '1965', in Michael Hogan and David Clune (editors), The People's Choice: Electoral Politics in 20th Century New South Wales, vol. 2 (1930 to 1965), pp. 427-463, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales and University of Sydney, 2001, ISBN 0909907404).


Colin A Hughes, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1965-1974, Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1977 (ISBN 0708113400) [election date corrected by Colin A Hughes, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1975-1984, p. xii (Rushcutters Bay, NSW: Australian National University Press, 1986 (ISBN 008033038X)]; New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 7-15, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999).