ID 0302

Parliament of New South Wales, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 6 August 1904

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Legislative Assembly
New South Wales
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day)
6 August 1904

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election)
Premier's party affiliation
Progressive Party (Progressives)
Legislative Assembly support for government at election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Government in office after election

Premier's party affiliation
Liberal Party
Legislative Assembly support for government after election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of Assembly seats
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Universal franchise at 21 years; single member districts; first past the post (plurality) voting (see notes)

New South Wales, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 6 August 1904
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Liberal Party  176,799  44.58  +11.25  45  50.00 
Australian Labor Party  91,177  22.99  +4.31  25  27.78 
Progressive Party (Progressives)  73,264  18.47  -3.60  16  17.78 
Independents  31,633  7.98  -7.54  3.33 
Independent Liberal  18,202  4.59  -1.57  1.11 
Independent Labor  1,009  0.25  -1.57     
Votes for other than listed parties 4,538 1.14 +0.98       
Totals 396,622  100.00    90  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart


Franchise; enfranchisement of women This was the first election for the New South Wales Legislative Assembly with a universal franchise; women had been enfranchised by legislation passed in 1902.

Premier in office at election: There had been a change of Premier since the previous election; John See resigned as premier for personal reasons and Waddell was commissioned as premier of a Progressive Party and ministerialist government on 15 June 1904. For details and references, see the entries for these premiers in the 'Governments' section of this website.

Parties: Party names and affiliations were fluid in this period. Hughes and Graham (pp. 436-437, reference in Sources, below) assign the votes of Progressives to the 'Ministerial' party as a way of indicating the complexities of ministerialist politics. For a description and analysis of the style of parliamentary government in this period and the emergence of political parties, see P. Loveday, A W Martin and Patrick Weller, 'New South Wales', in P Loveday, A W Martin and R S Parker, (editors), The Emergence of the Australian Party System, pp. 172-248, (Sydney: Hale and Iremonger, 1977 ISBN 0908094035).

Minority government: After the election, while the Liberal Party had won only 45 of the 90 seats in the Legislative Assembly, the Carruthers government was supported by the one Independent Liberal Party member and the three Independent members of the Assembly.

Reference: For a comprehensive survey of this election and the preceding period, see Michael Hogan, '1904' in Michael Hogan and David Clune (editors), The People's Choice: Electoral Politics in 20th Century New South Wales, vol. 1 (1901 to 1927), pp. 29-57, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales and University of Sydney, 2001, ISBN 0909907390).


Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, pp. 423-460, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700); New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 7-15, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999).