ID 0006

Commonwealth Parliament, House of Representatives election in Tasmania

(for more information on this election see national summary for the House of Representatives)

Election of 29 March 1901

Show only vote and seat summary details

Next election in this series

House of Representatives enrolment and voting in Tasmania

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of House of Representatives seats in this state/territory
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Varied by state for first election: Tasmania used proportional representation by the single transferable vote method (STV) with the state as a single five member electoral district

House of Representatives votes and seats won in Tasmania

Display Chart

Election held on 29 March 1901
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Free Trade Party  11,852  65.69  80.00 
Protectionist Party  6,049  33.53  20.00 
Votes for other than listed parties 140 0.78 0.00       
Totals 18,041  100.00    100.00 

Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Election date: some polls were held on 30 March 1901.

Government at election: Barton was commissioned by the Governor General to form the first ministry on 1 January 1901. It included representatives from all states.


Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700).