ID 1646

Parliament of Western Australia, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 11 March 2017

Show full election details

Western Australia, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 11 March 2017
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party  557,794  42.20  +9.07  41  69.49 
Liberal Party  412,710  31.23  -15.88  13  22.03 
Greens WA  117,723  8.91  +0.51     
National Party  71,313  5.40  -0.66  8.47 
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party  65,192  4.93     
Australian Christians  27,724  2.10  +0.29     
Independents  24,789  1.88  -1.03     
Shooters Fishers and Farmers Party  17,317  1.31     
Micro Business Party  13,211  1.00     
Julie Matheson for Western Australia  6,145  0.46     
Animal Justice Party  2,836  0.21     
Flux The System  2,188  0.17     
Family First  1,443  0.11  -0.49     
Socialist Alliance  694  0.05     
Liberal Democratic Party  561  0.04     
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 1,321,640  100.00    59  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Government in office after elections: The Barnett Liberal Party and National Party coalition government were defeated at this Assembly election (2017) and replaced by an Australian Labor Party majority government led by McGowan who was commissioned as Premier on 16 March 2017. The full ministry of 17 ministers was gazetted on 17 March 2017.

Pauline Hanson’s One Australia Party: Pauline Hanson’s One Nation Party ran candidates at this Assembly election under this party name for the first time since 2001. The party in Western Australia had been restructured several times since the One Australia Movement fielded candidates for the 1989 Western Australian Legislative Council election (see the 'Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party' entry under party name). Candidates were endorsed for the 2005 Western Australian Assembly election under the One Nation Party name.

Pauline Hanson’s One Nation Party in its original and restructured form has been successful in contesting state and federal upper house elections in several states since 1989; see the ‘Parties’ component of this Database for details.

Independents: The vote shown for independents at this election is the sum of votes cast for all candidates registered as Independents (28) and three candidates who ran for office without any registered party name. No Independent candidate was elected at this election.

Shooters Fishers and Farmers Party: The Shooters Party first contested the 1993 Senate election in New South Wales and had representation in the New South Wales Legislative Council for all but one election from 1995 to 2015. Related parties have since run candidates in Senate elections in all states and in some state elections including the Western Australian Legislative Council in 2013 where it won a seat under the name of the Shooters and Fishers Party. This WA election is the first time the party has included 'Farmers' in its party name.

Micro Business Party: This party '...laments small business's "insignificant representation in WA Parliament", promising to stand against the sale of assets, including Western Power, Fremantle Port and the TAB. The party also wants reform of payroll tax and stamp duty to be more beneficial to small businesses....' Kagi (see 'References', below).

Julie Matheson for Western Australia 'Ms Matheson cited community anger with Development Assessment Panels — planning adjudication bodies which critics argue take power away from local councils and citizens — as the catalyst for the formation of her own party.' Kagi (see 'References', below).

Animal Justice Party: The Animal Justice Party had run candidates in the Australian Capital Territory and some states for Senate and assembly elections since 2013.

Flux The System: 'Flux The System proposes allowing the public to vote on legislation before the Parliament, using a smartphone application. People could then "trade away" their vote on an issue they are unconcerned about, for a "credit" they could use on an issue of more importance to them. Any elected representatives would then cast their vote in Parliament on the basis of results of that public ballot.' Kagi (see 'References', below).

References: Jacob Kagi, 'WA election: Who are the micro parties and what do they stand for?', ABC News website, online here, [accessed 5 March 2017]


Election results are taken from the Western Australian Election Commission webpage, '2017 State General Election', Legislative Assembly - Formal Vote by Registered Political Party, online here. [accessed 25 March 12:00 p.m.]

Seats won from ABC News 'WA Election 2017', online here. [accessed 25 March 12:00 p.m.]