ID 1630

Commonwealth Parliament, House of Representatives election in Tasmania

(for more information on this election see national summary for the House of Representatives)

Election of 2 July 2016

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series |

House of Representatives enrolment and voting in Tasmania

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of House of Representatives seats in this state/territory
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Adult franchise at 18 years (from 1974); single member districts, preferential voting (AV); compulsory preferences; compulsory voting

House of Representatives votes and seats won in Tasmania

Display Chart

Election held on 2 July 2016
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party  127,186  37.90  +3.08  80.00 
Liberal Party  118,956  35.44  -4.81     
Australian Greens  34,291  10.22  +1.90     
Independents  29,372  8.75  +1.28  20.00 
Australian Recreational Fishers Party  11,254  3.35     
Christian Democratic Party  6,345  1.89     
Renewable Energy Party  4,534  1.35     
Votes for other than listed parties 3,685 1.10 -0.48       
Totals 335,623  100.00    100.00 

Previous election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Independents: Only one Independent candidate, Andrew Wilkie, contested this House of Representatives election in Tasmania and was returned in the seat of Denison, a seat that he had previously won at the 2010 and 2013 House of Representatives elections.

Australian Recreational Fishers Party: This was an environmentally oriented party in favour of sustainable fishing and promoting government action to limit 'super trawlers' in Tasmanian waters.

Christian Democratic Party: This party was affiliated with the Fred Nile Group, a socially conservative Christian party associated with the New South Wales politician Fred Nile who was first elected to the New South Wales Legislative Council in 1981. The group had contested several state and federal elections across Australia in the years following.

Renewable Energy Party: This party argued for community action to build an environmentally friendly and non-polluting energy future.

Other parties: The Australian Electoral Commission listed 3 registered party groupings for this House of Representatives election in Tasmania whose votes are not separately listed in the table above. None of these parties gained 1 percent of the first preference votes at this election, had a candidate elected or met any of the other criteria for listing in this database for the state summary for this House of Representatives election in Tasmania (see listed party). For details of the votes won by these parties, see the reference in 'Sources', below. Note that some of these parties may have qualified for listing in other state summaries for this election.


Voting figures were taken from the Australian Electoral Commission website 'First preference votes by party', online: here [accessed 22 June 2017]