ID 1608

Parliament of New South Wales, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 28 March 2015

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series |
General election for the Legislative Assembly
New South Wales
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day)
28 March 2015

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election)
Premier's party affiliation
Liberal Party
Legislative Assembly support for government at election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)
National Party

Government in office after election

Premier's party affiliation
Liberal Party
Legislative Assembly support for government after election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)
National Party

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of Assembly seats
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Adult franchise at 18 years, single member districts, preferential voting (AV), optional preferences, compulsory voting

New South Wales, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 28 March 2015
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Liberal Party  1,545,168  35.08  -3.50  37  39.78 
Australian Labor Party  1,500,855  34.08  +8.52  34  36.56 
National Party  464,653  10.55  -2.02  17  18.28 
Greens  453,031  10.29  0.00  3.23 
Independents  175,954  4.00  -4.90  2.15 
Christian Democratic Party  142,632  3.24  +0.12     
No Land Tax Party  88,792  2.02     
Country Party (unregistered)  11,911  0.27     
Animal Justice Party  5,164  0.12     
Australian Cyclists Party  4,892  0.11     
Unity Party  3,647  0.08     
Outdoor Recreation Party  3,096  0.07  -0.04     
Socialist Equality Party  1,374  0.03  -0.02     
Socialist Alliance  1,295  0.03  -0.05     
Australia First  1,092  0.02  +0.01     
Communist League  490  0.01  +0.01     
Liberal Democratic Party  288  0.01       
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 4,404,334  100.00    93  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Premier in office at election: There had been a change of Premier since the previous Legislative Assembly election in 2011. O'Farrell resigned as Premier on 16 April 2014 when evidence was disclosed at a hearing of the New South Wales Independent Commission Against Corruption that he had accepted a bottle of vintage wine (worth about $3,000) from a lobbyist in April 2011 without disclosing the gift, and after denying that he had received such a gift; for the context of the resignation, see David Clune, 'New South Wales', Australian Journal of Politics and History, Political Chronicles, January to June 2014, 60(4) June 2014: 627-633.

Baird was elected leader of the Liberal Party unopposed by a meeting of the Parliamentary Party on 17 April 2014, and was commissioned as Premier of a Liberal Party and National Party coalition government later in the day; the other members of the Ministry were commissioned on 23 April 2014.

Australian Labor Party and Country Labor: Australian Labor Party candidates in 26 electoral districts outside Sydney, Newcastle and Wollongong used the campaign label 'Country Labor'; they gained 359,566 votes and won 3 seats. But Country Labor had no separate organization and successful Country Labor candidates sat as members of the Australian Labor Party in the Legislative Assembly. The votes for 'Country Labor' are included with those of the Labor party in the table above.

Independents and unaffiliated candidates: At this Assembly election, 44 candidates listed themselves as Independents and gained 169,731 votes, with two Independent candidates being re-elected; Alex Greenwich (electoral district of Sydney, first won in a by-election in 2012), and Greg Piper (electoral district of Lake Macquarie). In the table above, the vote shown for Independents includes the votes for 4 candidates who did not list themselves as Independents or run as a member of party grouping; such 'unaffiliated' candidates gained 6,223 votes. If candidates who ran as candidates for an unregistered party are included, the total number of votes obtained by nominally 'Independent' candidates rises to 191,109 (see following note).

Unregistered parties: Green, p. 5 (see 'Sources', below) provides details of votes won by candidates who were affiliated with a party grouping which had not registered the party name with the New South Wales Electoral Commission. This meant that no party name appeared on the ballot, and the candidates were nominally Independents (see note above). The votes won by these unregistered parties listed by Green are included in the table above: Australia First (3 candidates); Communist League (1 candidate); Liberal Democratic Party (1 candidate); Socialist Equality (4 candidates); and Country Party (2 candidates). The Country Party is list as 'Country Party (unregistered)' to distinguish it from the Country Party which was the predecessor of the current National Party.


Antony Green, 2015 New South Wales Election: Analysis of Results,(Sydney: New South Wales Parliamentary Library Research Service, Background Paper No. 1/2015, ISSN 1325-4456, ISBN 9780731319374), available online here [accessed 5 August 2015].