ID 1606

Parliament of Queensland, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 31 January 2015

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Legislative Assembly
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day)
31 January 2015

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election)
Premier's party affiliation
Liberal National Party
Legislative Assembly support for government at election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Government in office after election

Premier's party affiliation
Australian Labor Party
Legislative Assembly support for government after election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of Assembly seats
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Adult franchise at 18 years, single member districts, preferential voting (AV), optional preferences, compulsory voting

Queensland, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 31 January 2015
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Liberal National Party  1,084,060  41.32  -8.33  42  47.19 
Australian Labor Party  983,054  37.47  +10.81  44  49.44 
Greens  221,157  8.43  +0.90     
Palmer United Party  133,929  5.11     
Independents  95,313  3.63  +0.66  1.12 
Katter's Australian Party  50,588  1.93  -9.61  2.25 
Family First   31,231  1.19  -0.17     
One Nation  24,111  0.92  +0.82     
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 2,623,443  100.00    89  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Government after election: At the general election for the Queensland Legislative Assembly held on 31 January 2015, the Liberal National Party government of Premier Newman was defeated, gaining only 42 seats in the 89 seat Assembly and losing his own seat of Ashgrove. The Australian Labor Party, led by Annastacia Palaszczuk, won 44 seats, one seat short of a majority. With the support of Independent member Peter Wellington (electoral district of Nicklin), Palaszczuk was commissioned to form an Australian Labor Party minority government on 14 February 2015.

On 26 February 2015, Premier Palaszczuk announced that she would be nominating Wellington to be Speaker of the Assembly when the Queensland Parliament met on 24 March (The Australian, 27 February 2015).

There had been the possibility of a challenge in the Court of Disputed Returns to the result in the electoral district of Ferny Grove. Of the four candidates contesting the seat, the candidate endorsed by the Palmer United Party, Mark Taverner, was an undischarged bankrupt at the time of the election, and ineligible to stand as a candidate. He gained only 4 percent of the primary vote, but the Australian Labor Party candidate won the seat with a margin of less than 1 percent after preferences had been distributed. A change in the result in Ferny Grove could have threatened the support for the Palaszczuk government in the Assembly. After analysis of the flow of preferences under Queensland's optional preferential system, the Queensland Electoral Commission decided that votes cast for Taverner could not alter the result of the election and declined to challenge the results; the Liberal National Party also decided to take no action.

Liberal National Party: In July 2008, the Liberal Party and the National Party in Queensland had agreed to merge to form a new party to contest state elections, the Liberal National Party. The merger was approved by the membership of both parties at separate state party conventions. The party won office in 2012 under the leadership of Newman until it was defeated at this election (2015).

Palmer United Party: The Palmer United Party was formed in 2013 by mining businessman Clive Palmer, who had been previously associated with the Queensland National Party and its successor, the Liberal National Party. The Palmer United Party endorsed candidates in every House of Representatives electoral district in Australia, and in Senate elections for all states and territories at the 2013 federal elections. The Party only won the Queensland House of Representatives seat of Fairfax which was contested by Palmer himself, but gained three Senate seats, (Queensland, Tasmania and Western Australia). Palmer United Party candidates ran for the Tasmanian House of Assembly elections in March 2014, but none was elected. The party fielded 50 candidates at this Queensland Assembly election (2015) with a platform that stressed the need for government integrity, the support of regional communities, and the importance of mining for the Queensland economy.

Katter's Australian Party: Bob Katter, a former National Party member of the Queensland Assembly (1974-1992), was elected to the House of Representatives from 1993 as a National Party candidate, and as an Independent from 2001 to 2010. In 2011 he registered the party name 'Katter's Australian Party' for both federal and state elections and won the Party's only seat (the electoral district of Kennedy) at the House of Representatives election in 2013. At the 2012 Queensland Legislative Assembly election, Katter's Australian Party fielded 76 candidates, and gained two seats (the electoral districts of Dalrymple and Mount Isa).

At this election for the Queensland Legislative Assembly (2015), Katter's Australian Party fielded 11 candidates and, although its state-wide vote dropped by 10 percent, maintained its hold on the two seats of Dalrymple and Mount Isa; Mount Isa is held by Bob Katter's son, Rob Katter.

Independents: The vote shown for Independents at this Queensland Legislative Assembly election in the table above is the sum of votes cast for all candidates who ran for office without a registered party name. Most of these candidates campaigned as Independents, but some may have campaigned using the name of an unregistered party. The Queensland Electoral Commission regards both these groups of candidates as 'other candidates'. There were 66 such candidates at this Queensland Assembly election (2015), one of whom, Independent candidate Peter Wellington, was re-elected to the seat of Nicklin.


Voting figures are taken from the Electoral Commission Queensland website '2015 State General Election - Election Summary': [3 March 2015]