ID 1595

Commonwealth Parliament, Senate election in Northern Territory

(for more information on this election see national summary for the Senate)

Election of 7 September 2013

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series

Senate enrolment and voting in Northern Territory

Total number of voters on the roll in this state/territory
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting

Electoral composition of the Senate for this election in Northern Territory

Total number of seats in the Senate
Total number of seats for each state
Number of seats for each territory
Seats to be filled at this Senate election in this state/territory
Casual vacancies/additional seats included in seats to be filled
Electoral System
Adult franchise at 18 years (from 1974); multimember districts; proportional representation by the single transferable vote method (STV); compulsory preferences; above the line (group ticket) voting permitted; compulsory voting

Senate votes and seats won, and seats held in Northern Territory

Display Chart

Election held on 7 September 2013
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won by ticket n Seats won by ticket % Seats won by party n Seats won by party % Seats held by party n Seats held by party %
Country Liberal Party  42,781  41.34  +0.73  50.00  50.00  50.00 
Australian Labor Party  33,889  32.75  -1.64  50.00  50.00  50.00 
Australian Greens  8,974  8.67  -4.88       
Palmer United Party  7,386  7.14       
Shooters Party  2,814  2.72  -2.08       
Australian Sex Party  2,203  2.13  -2.97       
Australian Independents Party  1,544  1.49       
Australia's First Nations Political Party  1,495  1.44       
Votes for other than listed parties 2,393 2.31 +2.31             
Totals 103,479  100.00    100.00  100.00  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


See the Glossary of this website for information on Senate elections and details of the distinction between Seats won by ticket and Seats won by party, and between Seats won and Seats held.

Palmer United Party: The Palmer United Party was formed in 2013 by mining businessman Clive Palmer, who had been previously associated with the Queensland National Party and its successor, the Liberal National Party. The Palmer United Party endorsed candidates in every House of Representatives electoral district in Australia, and in Senate elections for all states and territories. The Party's policies argued for limiting paid lobbyists, changes to refugee policies, abolition of a carbon tax, more mineral processing in Australia, and greater expenditure in regional Australia. The Party won a Senate seat in Queensland and Tasmania, and another seat in Western Australia after the Senate election was rerun in that state. (see the note in the national summary of the Senate results).

Australian Independents: This party stressed community involvement and consultation; as a registered party, it provided an opportunity for likeminded independent candidates to gain a party listing on the Senate ballot paper.

Australia's First Nations Political Party: This party had contested the Northern Territory Legislative Assembly elections in 2012; it was concerned with Aboriginal sovereignty and Northern Territory statehood.

Other parties: The Australian Electoral Commission listed four registered party groupings for this Senate election in the Northern Territory whose votes are not separately listed in the table above. None of these parties gained 1 percent of the first preference votes at this election, had a candidate elected or met any of the other criteria for listing in this database for the territory summary for this Senate election in the NT (see listed party). For details of the votes won by these parties, see the reference in 'Sources', below. Note that some of these parties may have qualified for listing in other state summaries for this election.

Many small parties made arrangements to exchange preferences for those voters -- the great majority -- who chose to vote above the line on the Senate ballot paper. This system of swapping preferences among very small parties was one of the reasons for the election of minor party candidates whose parties had gained only a small number of first preference votes. It is likely that the problems with the count for the Western Australian Senate seats will prompt a change in electoral rules.


Voting figures are taken from the Australian Electoral Commission 'Election 2013' web page 'Senate -- First Preferences by Group' online at: [accessed 13 December 2013]