ID 1586

Commonwealth Parliament, House of Representatives election in Northern Territory

(for more information on this election see national summary for the House of Representatives)

Election of 7 September 2013

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series

House of Representatives enrolment and voting in Northern Territory

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of House of Representatives seats in this state/territory
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Adult franchise at 18 years (from 1974); single member districts, preferential voting (AV); compulsory preferences; compulsory voting

House of Representatives votes and seats won in Northern Territory

Display Chart

Election held on 7 September 2013
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Country Liberal Party  41,468  41.70  +0.87  50.00 
Australian Labor Party  37,221  37.43  -0.48  50.00 
Australian Greens  7,841  7.89  -5.08     
Palmer United Party  4,609  4.63     
Citizens Electoral Council  1,856  1.87  -0.62     
Australian Sex Party  1,847  1.86     
Australia's First Nations Political Party  1,810  1.82     
Rise Up Australia Party  1,444  1.45     
Independents  748  0.75  -3.45     
Voluntary Euthanasia Party  597  0.60     
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 99,441  100.00    100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Palmer United Party: The Palmer United Party was formed in 2013 by mining businessman Clive Palmer, who had been previously associated with the Queensland National Party and its successor, the Liberal National Party. The Palmer United Party endorsed candidates in every House of Representatives electoral district in Australia, and in Senate elections for all states and territories. The Party's policies argued for limiting paid lobbyists, changes to refugee policies, abolition of a carbon tax, more mineral processing in Australia, and greater expenditure in regional Australia. In the House of Representatives, the Party only won the Queensland seat of Fairfax which was contested by Palmer himself.

Australian Sex Party: The Australian Sex Party was committed to respecting the rights of all individuals to live their lives in the way they chose without infringing on the rights of or causing harm to others. This included the decriminalization of personal drug use, legalizing voluntary euthanasia, and national policies on censorship and anti-discrimination. The party had contested federal elections since 2010 but had not always met the criteria for being a listed party in state and federal voting summaries in this database.

Australia's First Nations Political Party: This party contested the Northern Territory Assembly elections in 2012; it was concerned with Aboriginal sovereignty and Northern Territory statehood.

Rise up Australia Party: This party was founded in 2011 by Daniel Nalliah, who was opposed to multiculturalism. Its general orientation was nationalist and conservative.


Voting figures are taken from the Australian Electoral Commission 'Election 2013' web page 'First Preferences by Party', online at: [accessed 12 December 2013]