ID 1583

Commonwealth Parliament, House of Representatives election

Election of 7 September 2013

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the House of Representatives
Commonwealth of Australia
Date of election
7 September 2013

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Prime Minister in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Prime Minister since previous election)
Prime Minister's party affiliation
Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives support for government at election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Government in office after election

Prime Minister in office after election.
Prime Minister's party affiliation
Liberal Party
House of Representatives support for government after election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)
National Party
Liberal National Party (Qld)
Country Liberal Party (NT)

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of House of Representatives seats
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Adult franchise at 18 years (from 1974); single member districts, preferential voting (AV); compulsory preferences; compulsory voting

House of Representatives votes and seats won, national summary

Display Chart

Election held on 7 September 2013
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party  4,311,365  33.38  -4.60  55  36.67 
Liberal Party  4,131,865  31.99  +1.54  58  38.67 
Liberal National Party (Qld)  1,152,217  8.92  -0.19  22  14.67 
Australian Greens  1,116,918  8.65  -3.12  0.67 
Palmer United Party  709,035  5.49  0.67 
National Party  554,268  4.29  +0.56  6.00 
Independents  182,067  1.41  -1.13  1.33 
Family First  181,820  1.41  -0.84     
Katter's Australian Party  134,226  1.04  0.67 
Country Liberal Party (NT)  41,468  0.32  +0.01  0.67 
Votes for other than listed parties 399,678 3.09 +1.25       
Totals 12,914,927  100.00    150  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Prime minister in office at election: There had been a change of prime minister since the previous House of Representatives Election in 2010. At a meeting held on 26 June 2013, the Parliamentary Labor Party voted to depose Gillard as leader of the Australian Labor Party and replace her with Rudd who had himself been previously removed as leader of the Labor Party and prime minister on 24 June 2010. The replacement of Gillard as Party leader had been prompted by dissension in the caucus over the party leadership and increasing concern with falling support for the Labor government in the electorate. Rudd became prime minister of an Australian Labor Party minority government and renewed the agreements with Independent members and the Australian Greens to secure majority support in the House of Representatives until the election to be held 2013 (this election).

Government in office after election: At this election for the House of Representatives, the Rudd Australian Labor Party minority government was defeated by a coalition of the Liberal and National parties, headed by Abbott as leader of the Liberal Party. These parties have frequently formed a coalition to gain enough seats to form a government, together with the members of Liberal National Party elected from Queensland (see note, below), and the Country Liberal Party member elected from the Northern Territory. These parties have often been referred to as 'the Coalition' and their total vote and seat shares treated as a single party grouping; at this election the parties won 90 seats formed a Liberal Party and National Party coalition government under Prime Minister Abbott.

Liberal National Party (Qld): In July 2008, the Liberal Party and the National Party in Queensland agreed to merge to form a new party to contest state and federal elections, the Liberal National Party. The votes and seats won by the Liberal National Party, which is listed as a separate party in the table above, should be added to the Liberal Party and National Party coalition total when calculating its overall support (see note above).

Australian Greens: Adam Bandt won the seat seat of Melbourne for the Australian Greens at the general election in 2010, becoming the first candidate for the party to win representation in the House of Representatives at a general election. He retained the seat for the Australian Greens at this election (2013).

Palmer United Party: The Palmer United Party was formed in 2013 by mining businessman Clive Palmer, who had been previously associated with the Queensland National Party and its successor, the Liberal National Party. The Palmer United Party endorsed candidates in every House of Representatives electoral district in Australia, and in Senate elections for all states and territories. The Party's policies argued for limiting paid lobbyists, changes to refugee policies, abolition of a carbon tax, more mineral processing in Australia, and greater expenditure in regional Australia. The Party only won the Queensland seat of Fairfax which was contested by Palmer himself.

Katter's Australian Party: Bob Katter, a former National Party member of the Queensland Assembly (1974-1992), and a member of the House of Representatives since 1993, applied in 2011 to register the party name 'Katter's Australian Party' for both federal and state elections. Although originally elected to the House of Representatives as a member of the National Party for the electoral district of Kennedy in 1993, he resigned from the Party and successfully contested the four federal elections for the seat from 2001 to 2010 as an Independent; he ran in this election in the electoral district of Kennedy (2013) as a member of the party he founded together with 62 other candidates across Australia, but was the only successful candidate.

Independents and non-affiliated: The vote shown for Independents at this election is the sum of votes cast for the 68 candidates registered as Independents and those 4 candidates who ran for office without any registered party name. Two Independents were elected at this election; Andrew Wilkie was re-elected to the seat of Denison in Tasmania, and was joined by Cathy McGowan from the seat of Indi in Victoria.

Other parties: The Australian Electoral Commission listed twenty-five registered party groupings for this House of Representatives election whose votes are not separately listed in the table above. None of these parties gained 1 percent of the first preference votes at this election, had a candidate elected or met any of the other criteria for listing in this database for a national summary for this House of Representatives election (see listed party). For details of the votes won by these parties, see the reference in 'Sources', below. Note that some of these parties did qualify for listing in state summaries for this election.


Voting figures are taken from the Australian Electoral Commission 'Election 2013' web page 'First Preferences by Party', online at: [accessed 14 December 2013]