ID 1566

Parliament of Australian Capital Territory, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 20 October 2012

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Legislative Assembly
Australian Capital Territory
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day)
20 October 2012

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election)
Premier's party affiliation
Australian Labor Party
Legislative Assembly support for government at election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Government in office after election

Premier in office after election.
Premier's party affiliation
Australian Labor Party
Legislative Assembly support for government after election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)
ACT Greens

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of Assembly seats
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Universal franchise at 18 years, three multimember districts, proportional representation by the single transferable vote method (STV), compulsory voting

Australian Capital Territory, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 20 October 2012
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Liberal Party  86,032  38.90  +7.34  47.06 
Australian Labor Party  85,991  38.88  +1.53  47.06 
ACT Greens  23,773  10.75  -4.89  5.88 
Australian Motorists Party  9,179  4.15  -0.84     
Bullet Train for Canberra  8,864  4.01     
Independents  4,053  1.83  -1.46     
Liberal Democratic Party  2,340  1.06  +0.72     
Marion Le Social Justice Party  940  0.43     
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 -1.14       
Totals 221,172  100.00    17  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Chief Minister at election:There had been a change of Chief Minister since the previous Legislative Assembly election in 2008. In May 2011 Chief Minister Stanhope resigned from office and supported his deputy, Gallagher, in her contest for the leadership of the parliamentary Labor Party. Gallagher was elected as leader by caucus unopposed and became Chief Minister of an Australian Labor Party minority government supported by a parliamentary agreement with the ACT Greens.

Government in office after election: Before this election, an Australian Labor Party minority government was supported in office by the four members of the ACT Greens, giving the government 11 supporters in the 17 member Assembly. At this election, both the Labor Party and the Liberal Party increased their representation eight members, while the ACT Greens lost three of their four representatives.

After negotiations between the sole ACT Greens member, Shane Rattenbury, and the leaders of the Labor and Liberal parties, Rattenbury agreed to support the Labor Party and become a minister in an Australian Labor Party and ACT Greens coalition government led by Gallagher. An agreement had been reached between the coalition partners on matters of government policy, and Rattenbury had agreed to support the Liberal Party's choice of Speaker in the Assembly.

Independents: The vote shown for Independents at this election is the sum of votes cast for all 11 candidates who ran for office as 'ungrouped' candidates; five of these were listed as Independents, and four were listed without any affiliation.  None of these candidates was elected.

References: For a summary of information relating to this Australian Capital Territory Assembly election, see Brenton Holmes, 'ACT Election 2012', Parliamentary Library, Background Note, 10 December 2012, pp. 1-30, online at: here [accessed 2 June 2013]


The ACT Electoral Commission (Elections ACT) website, 'Results by electorate and party; [accessed 29 October 2012, 10:00 am]