ID 1564

Parliament of Northern Territory, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 25 August 2012

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Legislative Assembly
Northern Territory
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day)
25 August 2012

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election)
Premier's party affiliation
Australian Labor Party
Legislative Assembly support for government at election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Government in office after election

Premier's party affiliation
Country Liberal Party
Legislative Assembly support for government after election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of Assembly seats
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Adult franchise at 18 years; single member districts; preferential voting (AV), compulsory preferences; compulsory voting

Northern Territory, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 25 August 2012
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Country Liberal Party  46,653  50.63  +5.23  16  64.00 
Australian Labor Party  33,594  36.46  -6.72  32.00 
Independents  6,092  6.61  -0.51  4.00 
Greens  3,039  3.30  -1.00     
Australia's First Nations Political Party  2,048  2.22     
Australian Sex Party  717  0.78     
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 92,143  100.00    25  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Government in office at election: Henderson had been returned to office at the previous Legislative Assembly election in August 2008 as Chief Minister an Australian Labor Party government with a majority of one seat in the Assembly. In August 2009, a defection from the Labor caucus left the government dependent on the vote of Independent member Gerry Wood. Henderson continued as Chief Minister of a minority Labor government until this general election in 2012.

Independents: The votes shown for Independents at this election in the table above includes the votes for 10 candidates who registered as Independents, and 3 candidates who ran without any party label. One of the Independent candidates, Gerry Wood, was returned as the member for the electoral district of Nelson.

References: For a summary of information relating to this Northern Territory Assembly election, see Brenton Holmes, 'Northern Territory Election 2012', Parliamentary Library, Background Note, 31 October 2012, pp. 1-25.

Note also, Will Sanders, 'Winning Aboriginal Votes: Reflections on the 2012 Northern Territory Election', Australian Journal of Political Science, 47 (4) December 2012: 691-701.


Results calculated from figures provided by the Northern Territory Electoral Commission website: here [accessed 26 August 2012].