ID 1317

Parliament of Victoria, Legislative Assembly election

Election of 27 November 2010

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Legislative Assembly
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day)
27 November 2010

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election)
Premier's party affiliation
Australian Labor Party
Legislative Assembly support for government at election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Government in office after election

Premier's party affiliation
Liberal Party
Legislative Assembly support for government after election
If coalition, coalition partner(s)
National Party

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of Assembly seats
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Adult franchise at 18 years, single member districts, preferential voting (AV), compulsory preferences, compulsory voting

Victoria, Legislative Assembly votes and seats won

Display Chart

Election held on 27 November 2010
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Liberal Party  1,203,654  38.03  +3.60  35  39.77 
Australian Labor Party  1,147,348  36.25  -6.81  43  48.86 
Australian Greens  354,697  11.21  +1.17     
National Party  213,492  6.75  +1.58  10  11.36 
Independents  82,395  2.60  +0.32     
Family First  72,354  2.29  -2.00     
Country Alliance  42,938  1.36     
Democratic Labor Party  28,176  0.89     
Australian Sex Party  17,252  0.55     
Socialist Alliance  1,787  0.06  +0.02     
Christian Democratic Party  636  0.02     
Votes for other than listed parties 0 0.00 0.00       
Totals 3,164,729  100.00    88  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Premier in office at election: There had been a change of Premier since the previous Legislative Assembly election in 2006. Premier Bracks had announced his resignation as Premier and as a member of the Victorian Legislative Assembly on 27 July 2007. Bracks's deputy, Brumby was elected unopposed by the Labor caucus as the leader of the parliamentary party, and Brumby was commissioned as Premier of an Australian Labor Party majority government on 30 July 2007. For the context of this change of Premier, see Nick Economou, 'Victoria', Political Chronicle, Australian Journal of Politics and History, 54(2) June 2008: 302-308, at 302-305.

Government in office after election: In a close result, the Brumby Australian Labor Party majority government lost 12 seats at this election in 2010 winning 43 seats, two short of a working majority in an Assembly of 88 members. The Liberal Party won an additional 12 seats and, with an additional seat won by the National Party, could form a governing coalition with 45 seats. Ballieu, the leader of the Liberal Party, was commissioned as Premier of a Liberal Party and National Party coalition government on 2 December 2010.

Australian Greens: The Australian Greens increased their first preference vote by a little over 1 percent to 11.2 percent, reinforcing their position as the party with the third most electoral support at Assembly elections in Victoria. The party's support in inner Melbourne electoral districts had become a threat to the Australian Labor Party, prompting disquiet in both the Labor and Liberal Parties over the ability of the Greens to influence the outcome of some electoral districts through the allocation of their voters' second preferences; note, Economou, in 'References', below.

Independents: The votes assigned to Independents in the table above includes the votes for all those candidates who registered as Independents or left their party affiliation blank. Seventy-five Independent candidates contested this Assembly election in 2010 but none was elected.

Country Alliance: The Country Alliance party grouping was formed out of concerns expressed by groups with long and traditional links with regional Victoria, including loggers, fishermen, shooters and bush users in 2004, who felt that the National Party was not representing their interests; for the policies the Alliance stressed during the election, see Parliament of Victoria, Research Paper No. 1, p.14, in 'Sources', below. The party had changed its name to Australian Country Alliance at the 2014 Victorian Assembly election.

Democratic Labor Party: The Democratic Labor Party fielded 36 candidates at this Assembly election in 2010. The party had contested the 2010 federal election for the Senate and gained a Victorian Senate seat at that election.

Australian Sex Party: This libertarian party '... stood 17 candidates for the lower house, and campaigned with policies centred on freedom of choice. The Sex Party’s policies included: protecting live music venues from burdensome red tape; decriminalisation of all drugs for personal use; creation of a statutory right to privacy; and allowing same-sex couples to adopt.' Parliament of Victoria, Research Paper No. 1, p.16 (see 'Sources', below).

Christian Democratic Party: The party was affiliated with the Fred Nile Group, a socially conservative Christian party associated with the New South Wales politician Fred Nile who was first elected to the New South Wales Legislative Council in 1981

References: A brief survey and analysis of the election and its context can be found in Nick Economou, 'Victoria', Australian Political Chronicle, Australian Journal of Politics and History, 57 (2) June 2011: 296-303. For an extensive study, see, Parliament of Victoria, Research Paper No. 1, April 2011, in 'Sources', below.


The results used in the tables above are taken from Antony Green, 2010 Victorian State Election 27 November 2010: Summary of Results, ABC Election Unit, July 2014, online here [accessed 5 May 2018]. See also:

Parliament of Victoria, Research Service, Parliamentary Library, Department of Parliamentary Services, The 2010 Victorian State Election, Research Paper No. 1, April 2011, prepared by Bella Lesman, Rachel Macreadie and Greg Gardiner, (Melbourne: 2011, ISBN (Print) 18367941, (Online) 1836795X); online here [accessed 5 May 2018].

Adam Carr, 'Fifty-seventh Parliament Elected 27 November 2010', in 'Legislative Assembly Elections', Victorian Elections Since 1843, Psephos: Adam Carr's Election Archive, online here [5 May 2018].