ID 1299

Commonwealth Parliament, House of Representatives election in New South Wales

(for more information on this election see national summary for the House of Representatives)

Election of 21 August 2010

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series

House of Representatives enrolment and voting in New South Wales

Total number of voters on the roll
Number of House of Representatives seats in this state/territory
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system
Not applicable
Electoral system
Adult franchise at 18 years (from 1974); single member districts, preferential voting (AV); compulsory preferences; compulsory voting

House of Representatives votes and seats won in New South Wales

Display Chart

Election held on 21 August 2010
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party  1,494,490  37.28  -6.85  26  54.17 
Liberal Party  1,470,146  36.67  +4.05  16  33.33 
Australian Greens  410,405  10.24  +2.35     
National Party  317,867  7.93  +0.02  8.33 
Independents  174,312  4.35  +1.02  4.17 
Christian Democratic Party  54,544  1.36  -0.56     
Votes for other than listed parties 87,554 2.18 -0.03       
Totals 4,009,318  100.00    48  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart


Rate of informal (invalid) voting: At 6.82 percent, the rate of informal (invalid) voting in New South Wales was the highest of any state or territory at this House of Representatives election (2010). Confusion with the optional preferential electoral system used for New South Wales Legislative Assembly elections, and disillusionment with both major parties at the election may have been factors, together with the well publicized urgings of a former federal leader of the Labor Party, Mark Latham to cast an informal (invalid) vote as a form of political protest.

Independents and non-affiliated: The vote shown for Independents at this election is the sum of votes cast for all candidates registered as Independents in New South Wales (172,921 votes) and those candidates who ran for office without any registered party name (2,508 votes). Two Independents were elected at this election from New South Wales; Robert Oakeshott (Lyne), and Tony Windsor (New England).


Voting figures were calculated from the Australian Electoral Commission 'Virtual Tally Room' web page 'First Preferences by Party', on line at: [accessed 20 November 2013]