ID 1074

Commonwealth Parliament, Senate election in Victoria

(for more information on this election see national summary for the Senate)

Election of 24 November 2007

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series

Senate enrolment and voting in Victoria

Total number of voters on the roll in this state/territory
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting

Electoral composition of the Senate for this election in Victoria

Total number of seats in the Senate
Total number of seats for each state
Number of seats for each territory
Seats to be filled at this Senate election in this state/territory
Casual vacancies/additional seats included in seats to be filled
Electoral System
Adult franchise at 18 years (from 1974); multimember districts; proportional representation by the single transferable vote method (STV); compulsory preferences; above the line (group ticket) voting permitted; compulsory voting

Senate votes and seats won, and seats held in Victoria

Display Chart

Election held on 24 November 2007
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won by ticket n Seats won by ticket % Seats won by party n Seats won by party % Seats held by party n Seats held by party %
Australian Labor Party  1,327,076  41.70  +5.58  50.00  50.00  41.67 
Liberal Party - National Party (joint ticket)  1,257,149  39.50  -4.59  50.00         
Australian Greens  320,759  10.08  +1.28           
Family First  80,100  2.52  +0.64        8.33 
Australian Democrats  52,596  1.65  -0.21           
Democratic Labor Party  32,930  1.03  -0.90           
Liberal Party            50.00  50.00 
National Party                 
Votes for other than listed parties 111,759 3.51 +0.76             
Totals 3,182,369  100.00    100.00  100.00  12  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart


See the Glossary of this website for information on Senate elections and details of the distinction between Seats won by ticket and Seats won by party, and between Seats won and Seats held.

Additional Liberal Party senator: Senator Julian McGauran was elected to the Senate from Victoria at the 2004 Senate election as a National Party senator. He resigned from the National Party and sat in the Senate as a member of the Liberal Party from 3 February 2006. This increases the 'Seats held' by the Liberal Party in the Senate by one, with a corresponding loss of any National Party representation in the Senate from Victoria.


Scott Bennett and Stephen Barber, Commonwealth Election 2007 -- Reissue, (Canberra: Parliamentary Library Research Paper No. 5, Parliament of Australia,10 September 2009, 2009–10, ISSN 1834-9854), online at: [accessed 18 August 2010]

Australian Electoral Commission website, Virtual Tally Room, 2007 Election, Senate 'First preferences by group': [accessed 18 July 2010]