ID 0906

Commonwealth Parliament, Senate election in Tasmania

(for more information on this election see national summary for the Senate)

Election of 10 November 2001

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series

Senate enrolment and voting in Tasmania

Total number of voters on the roll in this state/territory
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting

Electoral composition of the Senate for this election in Tasmania

Total number of seats in the Senate
Total number of seats for each state
Number of seats for each territory
Seats to be filled at this Senate election in this state/territory
Casual vacancies/additional seats included in seats to be filled
Electoral System
Adult franchise at 18 years (from 1974); multimember districts; proportional representation by the single transferable vote method (STV); compulsory preferences; above the line (group ticket) voting permitted; compulsory voting

Senate votes and seats won, and seats held in Tasmania

Display Chart

Election held on 10 November 2001
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won by ticket n Seats won by ticket % Seats won by party n Seats won by party % Seats held by party n Seats held by party %
Liberal Party  119,720  38.79  +4.97  50.00  50.00  41.67 
Australian Labor Party  113,709  36.84  -4.79  33.33  33.33  33.33 
Australian Greens  42,568  13.79  +7.98  16.67  16.67  8.33 
Australian Democrats  14,273  4.62  +0.70           
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party  10,169  3.29  -0.48           
Brian Harradine Group      -7.87          8.33 
Independents                8.33 
Votes for other than listed parties 8,223 2.66 -0.52             
Totals 308,662  100.00    100.00  100.00  12  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart


See the Glossary of this website for information on Senate elections and details of the distinction between 'Seats won by ticket' and 'Seats won by party', and between 'Seats won' and 'Seats held'. The senator (Shayne Michael Murphy) listed as an Independent under Seats held by party in Tasmania, was elected at the 1998 Senate election as a member of the Australian Labor Party.


Australian Electoral Commission, Election 2001: Election Results, CD-ROM, Canberra, 2002 (ISBN 0642501815); Scott Bennett, Gerard Newman and Andrew Kopras, Commonwealth Election 2001, Canberra: Commonwealth Parliament, Department of the Parliamentary Library, Information Research Services, Research Paper No. 11 2001–02, 2002 (ISSN 13287478).

For a general review of this election, see John Warhurst and Marian Simms (editors), 2001: The Centenary Election, St Lucia, Qld: University of Queensland Press, 2002 (ISBN 070223303X); David Solomon (editor), Howard's Race: Winning the Unwinnable Election, Pymble, NSW: HarperCollins, 2002 (ISBN 073227373 0).