ID 0869

Commonwealth Parliament, Senate election

Election of 2 March 1996

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Senate
Commonwealth of Australia
Date of election
2 March 1996
Type of Senate election
Half Senate with House of Representatives

Government in office at Senate election

Prime Minister in office at date of Senate election. (check notes to Senate national summary table to see if change of Prime Minister since previous election)
Prime Minister's party affiliation
Australian Labor Party
Government majority in Senate at date of election
Change of government
Government majority in new Senate
If coalition, coalition partner(s)

Senate enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting

Electoral composition of the Senate for this election

Total number of seats in the Senate
Total number of seats for each state
Number of seats for each territory
Seats to be filled at this Senate election
Casual vacancies/additional seats included in seats to be filled
Electoral System
Adult franchise at 18 years (from 1974); multimember districts; proportional representation by the single transferable vote method (STV); compulsory preferences; above the line (group ticket) voting permitted; compulsory voting

Senate votes and seats won, and seats held, national summary

Display Chart

Election held on 2 March 1996
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won by ticket n Seats won by ticket % Seats won by party n Seats won by party % Seats held by party n Seats held by party %
Australian Labor Party   3,940,150  36.15  -7.35  14  35.00  14  35.00  29  38.16 
Liberal Party - National Party (joint ticket)  2,669,377  24.49  +0.09  15.00         
Liberal Party  1,770,486  16.24  +0.65  12  30.00  17  42.50  31  40.79 
Australian Democrats  1,179,357  10.82  +5.51  12.50  12.50  9.21 
National Party  312,769  2.87  +0.15  2.50  5.00  6.58 
Australian Greens  261,677  2.40           
Greens WA  57,006  0.52  +0.02        1.32 
Country Liberal Party (NT)  40,050  0.37  +0.04  2.50  2.50  1.32 
Tasmanian Greens  26,830  0.25  2.50  2.50  1.32 
Brian Harradine Group (Tas)      -0.30          1.32 
Votes for other than listed parties 641,335 5.88 +1.01             
Totals 10,899,037  100.00    40  100.00  40  100.00  76  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


In the table above, see the Glossary distinctions between Seats won by ticket and Seats won by party, and between Seats won by party and Seats held by party.

Green parties: Green party groupings which had fielded candidates under a variety of party names at previous Senate elections, combined to run candidates on an Australian Greens ticket at this Senate election in all states and territories except Tasmania and Western Australia. In these states, the parties kept their previous names; the Tasmanian Greens in Tasmania and the Greens WA in Western Australia. The votes gained and seats won and/or held for the Tasmanian Greens and the Greens WA are shown separately in this national summary for the Senate.


Australian Electoral Commission, Electoral Statistics 1993, 1996, 1998, CD-ROM, Canberra,1999; Colin A Hughes, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1985-1999, Sydney: Federation Press, 2002 (ISBN 1862874344); Gerard Newman, Federal Election Results 1949-2001, Canberra: Commonwealth Parliament, Department of the Parliamentary Library, Information and Research Services, Research Paper 9 2001-02, 2002 (ISSN 13287478).

For a general review of this election, see: Clive Bean, Marian Simms, Scott Bennett and John Warhurst (editors), The Politics of Retribution: The 1996 Federal Election, St Leonards, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 1997 (ISBN 1 86448 386 5).