ID 0829

Commonwealth Parliament, Senate election

Election of 13 December 1975

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Senate
Commonwealth of Australia
Date of election
13 December 1975
Type of Senate election
Double Dissolution of Senate and House of Representatives

Government in office at Senate election

Prime Minister in office at date of Senate election. (check notes to Senate national summary table to see if change of Prime Minister since previous election)
Prime Minister's party affiliation
Liberal Party
Government majority in Senate at date of election
Change of government
Government majority in new Senate
If coalition, coalition partner(s)
National Country Party

Senate enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems)
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats)
Total valid votes
Rate of informal (invalid) voting

Electoral composition of the Senate for this election

Total number of seats in the Senate
Total number of seats for each state
Number of seats for each territory
Seats to be filled at this Senate election
Casual vacancies/additional seats included in seats to be filled
Electoral System
Adult franchise at 18 years (from 1974); multimember districts, proportional representation by the single transferable vote method (STV); compulsory preferences; compulsory voting

Senate votes and seats won, and seats held, national summary

Display Chart

Election held on 13 December 1975
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

* to view table drag left or right.
Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won by ticket n Seats won by ticket % Seats won by party n Seats won by party % Seats held by party n Seats held by party %
Australian Labor Party   2,931,310  40.91  -6.38  27  42.19  27  42.19  27  42.19 
Liberal Party - National Country Party (joint ticket)  2,855,721  39.86  17  26.56         
Liberal Party  793,772  11.08  +3.26  16  25.00  27  42.19  27  42.19 
Democratic Labor Party  191,049  2.67  -0.89           
Independents  114,310  1.60  -0.24  1.56  1.56  1.56 
Liberal Movement (SA)  76,426  1.07  +0.11  1.56  1.56  1.56 
National Country Party  38,366  0.54  1.56  10.94  12.50 
Country Liberal Party (NT)  15,519  0.22  1.56  1.56     
Votes for other than listed parties 148,240 2.07 +0.98             
Totals 7,164,713  100.00    64  100.00  64  100.00  64  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


In the table above, see the Glossary distinctions between Seats won by ticket and Seats won by party, and between Seats won by party and Seats held by party.

At the 1975 election, the residents of the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory were represented in the Senate for the first time. The Senate was increased from 60 to 64 senators following the election of territory senators; two from each territory. The term of office of these senators is limited to the period between general elections for the House of Representatives, Senate elections for territory senators occurring at every House of Representatives election. See the Glossary of this website for information on the territories.

In the national summary for the Senate for this election, the seats held by the National Country Party include the seat won by the Country Liberal Party in the Northern Territory.


Colin A Hughes, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1975-1984, Rushcutters Bay, NSW: Australian National University Press, 1986 (ISBN 008033038X); Gerard Newman, Federal Election Results 1949-2001, Canberra: Commonwealth Parliament, Department of the Parliamentary Library, Information and Research Services, Research Paper 9 2001-02, 2002 (ISSN 13287478).

For a general survey of this election, see Howard R Penniman (editor), Australia at the Polls: The National Elections of 1975, Washington, DC: American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research, 1977 (ISBN 0844732397).