ID 0500

Parliament of Western Australia, Assembly election

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Assembly Western Australia 
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day) 12 April 1930

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election) Philip Collier
Premier's party affiliation Australian Labor Party 
Assembly support for government at election Majority 
If coalition, coalition partner(s)  

Government in office after election

Premier in office after election. James Mitchell
Premier's party affiliation Nationalist Party
Assembly support for government after election Coalition  
If coalition, coalition partner(s) Country Party  

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll 230,076 
Number of Assembly seats 50 
Number of uncontested seats 11 
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats 43,344 
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats 186,732 
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems) 139,013 
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats) 74.45% 
Total valid votes 137,434 
Rate of informal (invalid) voting 1.14%
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system Not applicable
Electoral system Adult franchise at 21 years; single member districts; preferential voting (AV), compulsory preferences 


Western Australia, Assembly votes and seats won

Election held on 12 April 1930
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Australian Labor Party 52,824  38.44  -6.89     23  46.00 
Nationalist Party (Nationalists) 49,726  36.18  *     16  32.00 
Country Party 25,792  18.77  +2.80     10  20.00 
Independent Country Party 3,455  2.51  *     2.00 
Independent Labor 2,852  2.08  +1.72        
Independents 2,785  2.03  +1.88        
Votes for other than listed parties 0.00  0.00          
Totals 137,434  100.00    50  11  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Government in office after election: The Collier Australian Labor Party government lost its majority in the Legislative Assembly at this election, but Collier remained in office while the Nationalist Party and the Country Party worked out a coalition agreement. When this was settled, Collier resigned on 23 April 1930 and Mitchell was commissioned as Premier of a Nationalist Party and Country Party coalition government; for the context and summary details of these changes, see the entries for each Premier in the 'Periods in office' component of this website.

Australian Labor Party: For a study of the Australian Labor Party in Western Australia, see Ralph Pervan and Douglas Mitchell, 'The Changing Nature of the Australian Labor Party', in Ralph Pervan and Campbell Sharman (editors), Essays on Western Australian Politics, pp 129-158, (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 1979, ISBN 0855641495); for a study of the Collier government, see David Black, 'The Collier Government 1924-1930', University Studies in Western Australian History, [University of Western Australia], 3 (3), October 1959: 58-70, and see 'References', below.

Nationalist Party (Nationalists): The restructuring of the Country Party (see note below) contrasted with the weak organization of the Nationalist Party during this period and growing tensions within the party over the secession movement in Western Australia. But this did not prevent the party's success at this election (1930) and its ability to be the dominant partner in the governing coalition; see David Black, 'The Liberal Party and its Predecessors', in Ralph Pervan and Campbell Sharman (editors), Essays on Western Australian Politics, pp 191-232, at pp 204-206, (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 1979, ISBN 0855641495).

Country Party: The Country Party had suffered a major split in 1923 (for details, see the notes for the 1924 Legislative Assembly elections) but had undergone a major reorganization to rebuild its electoral base and parliamentary support in the years leading up to this election (1930); see Lenore Layman, 'The Country Party: Rise and Decline', in Ralph Pervan and Campbell Sharman (editors), Essays on Western Australian Politics, pp 159-190, at pp 164-167 (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 1979, ISBN 0855641495).

References: For the political context of this election (1930), see David Black, 'The Era of Labor Ascendancy 1924-1947', in C T Stannage (editor), A New History of Western Australia, pp 406-440, (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 1981, ISBN 0855641819).

For an overview of the context of Western Australian parliamentary and electoral politics in this period, see David Black, 'Factionalism and Stability, 1911-1947', in David Black (editor), The House on the Hill: A History of the Parliament of Western Australia 1832-1990, pp 97-151, (Perth: Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, Parliament of Western Australia, 1991, ISBN 0730939839).


Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700); Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, Voting for the South Australian, Western Australian and Tasmanian Lower Houses 1890-1964, (Canberra: Department of Political Science, Research School of Social Sciences, Australian National University, 1976, ISBN 0708113346); David Black, Election Statistics Legislative Assembly of Western Australia 1890-1996, Listed Alphabetically by Constituency, (Perth: Parliament of Western Australia and Western Australian Electoral Commission, 1997); and David Black. An Index to Parliamentary Candidates in Western Australian Elections State and Federal 1890-2006, 2nd edition, (Perth: Parliament of Western Australia, 2006, ISBN 1920830774).