ID 0472

Parliament of Victoria, Assembly election

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Assembly Victoria 
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day) 28 May 1955

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election) John Cain [snr]
Premier's party affiliation Australian Labor Party 
Assembly support for government at election Majority 
If coalition, coalition partner(s)  

Government in office after election

Premier in office after election. Henry Edward Bolte
Premier's party affiliation Liberal and Country Party
Assembly support for government after election Majority 
If coalition, coalition partner(s)  

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll 1,422,588 
Number of Assembly seats 66 
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats 19,782 
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats 1,402,806 
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems) 1,318,934 
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats) 94.02% 
Total valid votes 1,289,979 
Rate of informal (invalid) voting 2.2%
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system Not applicable
Electoral system Adult franchise at 21 years, single member districts, preferential voting (AV), compulsory preferences, compulsory voting 


Victoria, Assembly votes and seats won

Election held on 28 May 1955
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Liberal and Country Party 487,408  37.78  +12.93     34  51.52 
Australian Labor Party 420,197  32.57  -16.50     20  30.30 
Anti - Communist Labor Party 162,660  12.61  *     1.52 
Country Party 122,999  9.53  +1.19     10  15.15 
Independents 45,570  3.53  -3.38     1.52 
Victorian Liberal Party 44,692  3.46  *        
Votes for other than listed parties 6,453  0.50  -0.73          
Totals 1,289,979  100.00    66  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.