ID 0391

Parliament of South Australia, Assembly election

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Assembly South Australia 
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day) 19 March 1938

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election) Richard Layton Butler [jnr]
Premier's party affiliation Liberal and Country League 
Assembly support for government at election Majority 
If coalition, coalition partner(s)  

Government in office after election

Premier in office after election. Richard Layton Butler [jnr]
Premier's party affiliation Liberal and Country League
Assembly support for government after election Minority 
If coalition, coalition partner(s)  

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll 364,884 
Number of Assembly seats 39 
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats 12,461 
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats 352,423 
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems) 223,136 
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats) 63.31% 
Total valid votes 218,325 
Rate of informal (invalid) voting 2.16%
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system Not applicable
Electoral system Universal franchise at 21 years, single member districts, preferential voting (AV) 


South Australia, Assembly votes and seats won

Election held on 19 March 1938
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Independents 74,412  34.08  +20.67     12  30.77 
Liberal & Country League 72,998  33.44  -1.18     15  38.46 
Australian Labor Party 57,124  26.16  -1.61     23.08 
Independent Labor 12,340  5.65  *     5.13 
Single Tax Party 1,451  0.66  -2.46     2.56 
Votes for other than listed parties 0.00  -1.10          
Totals 218,325  100.00    39  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700).