ID 0341

Parliament of Queensland, Assembly election

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Assembly Queensland 
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day) 18 May 1907

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election) William Kidston
Premier's party affiliation Ministerialists 
Assembly support for government at election Coalition Minority 
If coalition, coalition partner(s) Australian Labor Party  

Government in office after election

Premier in office after election. William Kidston
Premier's party affiliation Ministerialists
Assembly support for government after election Coalition  
If coalition, coalition partner(s) Australian Labor Party  

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll 220,189 
Number of Assembly seats 72 
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats 7,852 
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats 212,337 
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems) 152,049 
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats) 71.61% 
Total valid votes 197,312 
Rate of informal (invalid) voting Not applicable
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system 2,547
Electoral system Single and multimember districts, contingent voting (a version of AV) 


Queensland, Assembly votes and seats won

Election held on 18 May 1907
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Opposition 80,076  40.58  +11.59     29  40.28 
Ministerialists 62,898  31.88  +1.89     24  33.33 
Australian Labor Party 52,079  26.39  -9.65     18  25.00 
Independents 2,259  1.14  -3.82     1.39 
Votes for other than listed parties 0.00  0.00          
Totals 197,312  100.00    72  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart


Electoral districts were split into single-member and 2 member districts. Voting figures are for all districts. Goverrnment at election: The Morgan ALP Ministerialist coalition government was replaced by the Kidston ALP Ministerialist minority coalition government on 19 January 1906.


For this Assembly election (1964), there is substantial agreement between the three sources below (Hughes and Graham 1968, Hughes and Graham 1975, and Carr) on the first preference votes for the larger parties. The votes and partisan affiliation of minor party and Independent candidates are calculated from Hughes and Graham 1975.

Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700); Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, Voting for the Victoria[n] Legislative Assembly 1890-1964, (Canberra: Department of Political Science, Research School of Social Sciences, Australian National University, 1975, ISBN 070811332X).

Adam Carr, 'Forty-third Parliament Elected 27 June 1964', in 'Legislative Assembly Elections', Victorian Elections Since 1843, Psephos: Adam Carr's Election Archive, online here [accessed 12 January 2018].

Raymond Wright, A People's Counsel: A History of the Parliament of Victoria 1856-1990, (Melbourne: Oxford University Press, 1992, ISBN 0195533593)