ID 0339

Parliament of Queensland, Assembly election

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Assembly Queensland 
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day) 11 March 1902

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election) Robert Philp
Premier's party affiliation Ministerialists 
Assembly support for government at election Minority 
If coalition, coalition partner(s)  

Government in office after election

Premier in office after election. Robert Philp
Premier's party affiliation Ministerialists
Assembly support for government after election Majority 
If coalition, coalition partner(s)  

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll 108,548 
Number of Assembly seats 72 
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats 7,029 
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats 101,519 
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems) 80,076 
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats) 78.88% 
Total valid votes 100,644 
Rate of informal (invalid) voting Not applicable
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system 803
Electoral system Single and multimember districts, contingent voting (a version of AV) 


Queensland, Assembly votes and seats won

Election held on 11 March 1902
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Ministerialists 48,439  48.13  -1.21     40  55.56 
Australian Labor Party 39,579  39.33  +3.85     25  34.72 
Opposition 6,905  6.86  -4.22     6.94 
Independents 3,781  3.76  -0.34     1.39 
Farmers Representatives Party 1,840  1.83  *     1.39 
Votes for other than listed parties 100  0.10  +0.10          
Totals 100,644  100.00    72  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Electoral districts were split into single-member and 2 member districts. Voting figures are for all districts. Government in office at election: The Dawson ALP minority government replaced the Dickson Ministerialist government on 1 December 1899. The Philp Ministerialist minority government replaced the Dawson minority government on 7 December 1899.


Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700).