ID 0338

Parliament of Queensland, Assembly election

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Assembly Queensland 
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day) 11 March 1899

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election) James Robert Dickson
Premier's party affiliation Ministerialists 
Assembly support for government at election Minority 
If coalition, coalition partner(s)  

Government in office after election

Premier in office after election. James Robert Dickson
Premier's party affiliation Ministerialists
Assembly support for government after election Majority 
If coalition, coalition partner(s)  

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll 97,046 
Number of Assembly seats 72 
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats 2,367 
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats 94,679 
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems) 74,919 
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats) 79.13% 
Total valid votes 95,155 
Rate of informal (invalid) voting Not applicable
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system 879
Electoral system Single and multimember districts, contingent voting (a version of AV) 


Queensland, Assembly votes and seats won

Election held on 11 March 1899
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Ministerialists 46,953  49.34  +1.52     43  59.72 
Australian Labor Party 33,756  35.47  +0.51     21  29.17 
Opposition 10,548  11.09  +0.72     11.11 
Independents 3,898  4.10  -0.32        
Votes for other than listed parties 0.00  0.00          
Totals 95,155  100.00    72  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart


Polling dates: 11 March (34 seats), 18 March (17 seats), 25 March (18 seats). Electoral districts were split into single-member and 2 member districts. Voting figures are for all districts. Premier in office at election: Burns replaced Nelson as premier on 13 April 1898. Dickson replaced Burns as premier of a minority government on 1 October 1898.


Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700).