ID 0313

Parliament of New South Wales, Assembly election

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Assembly New South Wales 
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day) 11 May 1935

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election) Bertram Sydney Barnsdale Stevens
Premier's party affiliation United Australia Party 
Assembly support for government at election Coalition  
If coalition, coalition partner(s) Country Party  

Government in office after election

Premier in office after election. Bertram Sydney Barnsdale Stevens
Premier's party affiliation United Australia Party
Assembly support for government after election Coalition  
If coalition, coalition partner(s) Country Party  

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll 1,528,713 
Number of Assembly seats 90 
Number of uncontested seats 11 
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats 180,829 
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats 1,347,884 
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems) 1,294,752 
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats) 96.06% 
Total valid votes 1,255,419 
Rate of informal (invalid) voting 3.04%
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system Not applicable
Electoral system Universal franchise at 21 years; single member districts; preferential voting (AV); compulsory preferences; compulsory voting 


New South Wales, Assembly votes and seats won

Election held on 11 May 1935
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
State Labor Party 532,486  42.42  +2.21     29  32.22 
United Australia Party 415,485  33.10  -3.10     38  42.22 
Country Party 162,178  12.92  -0.23     23  25.56 
Federal Labor Party 63,468  5.06  +0.80        
Independents 55,833  4.45  +1.70        
Communist Party 18,480  1.47  +0.55        
Votes for other than listed parties 7,489  0.60  -0.20          
Totals 1,255,419  100.00    90  11  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart


State Labor Party and Federal Labor Party: The Labor Party in New South Wales had long standing disagreements with the federal wing of the party, and the New South Wales branch of the party was expelled from the Australian Labor Party in 1931. This split in the Labor Party meant that there were two competing Labor parties at the 1932 and 1935 New South Wales elections; State Labor under the leadership of former premier Lang, and Federal Labor; for the 1935 election, see McCarthy, '1935', pp. 126-132, 134-135, 137 (see Reference, below). For a study of federal strains within the Labor Party in this period, see Pat Weller, Bev Lloyd, and Bron Stevens, 'State Power and Federal Intervention', in Heather Radi and Peter Spearritt (editors), Jack Lang, pp. 160-178, (Neutral Bay, NSW: Hale & Iremonger, 1977, ISBN 0908094019).

Country Party: The Country Party's official name at this election was 'United Country Party' although it campaigned under the label 'Country Party'.

Reference: For a comprehensive survey of this election and the preceding period, see John McCarthy, '1935', in Michael Hogan and David Clune (editors), The People's Choice: Electoral Politics in 20th Century New South Wales, vol. 2 (1930 to 1965), pp. 105-138, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales and University of Sydney, 2001, ISBN 0909907404).


Colin A Hughes and B D Graham, A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics 1890-1964, pp. 423-460, (Canberra: Australian National University Press, 1968, SBN 708102700); New South Wales, Parliament, The New South Wales Parliamentary Record: Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly, 1824-1999, vol. VI, pp. 7-15, (Sydney: Parliament of New South Wales, 1999).