ID 1601

Parliament of South Australia, Assembly election

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Assembly South Australia 
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day) 15 March 2014

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election) Jay Wilson Weatherill
Premier's party affiliation Australian Labor Party 
Assembly support for government at election Majority 
If coalition, coalition partner(s)  

Government in office after election

Premier in office after election. Jay Wilson Weatherill
Premier's party affiliation Australian Labor Party
Assembly support for government after election Coalition  
If coalition, coalition partner(s) Independent (Brock)  

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll 1,142,419 
Number of Assembly seats 47 
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats  
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats 1,142,419 
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems) 1,050,359 
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats) 91.94% 
Total valid votes 1,017,856 
Rate of informal (invalid) voting 3.09%
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system Not applicable
Electoral system Universal franchise (at 18 years from 1973), single member districts, preferential voting (AV), compulsory preferences, compulsory voting 


South Australia, Assembly votes and seats won

Election held on 15 March 2014
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Liberal Party 455,797  44.78  +3.13     22  46.81 
Australian Labor Party 364,420  35.80  -1.67     23  48.94 
Australian Greens 88,600  8.70  +0.59        
Family First 63,575  6.25  +0.87        
Independents 27,613  2.71  -1.99     2.13 
Independent (Brock) 10,342  1.02  *     2.13 
Dignity 4 Disability 5,934  0.58  +0.45        
National Party 1,328  0.13  -0.92        
FREE Australia Party 247  0.02  -0.13        
Votes for other than listed parties 0.00  0.00          
Totals 1,017,856  100.00    47  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Premier in office at election: There had been a change of Premier since the previous general election for the House of Assembly in March 2010. At a confidential meeting in February 2011, Premier Rann agreed with senior members of the Australian Labor Party in South Australia to resign in March 2012 if the party agreed on a successor. During 2011, pressure mounted on Premier Rann to resign in favour of Jay Weatherill, a minister in the Rann government. An arrangement was finally struck that Rann would resign on 20 October 2011. For a survey of the political context of this change of party leader, see Haydon Manning, 'South Australia', Australian Journal of Politics and History, Australian Political Chronicle, July-December 2011, 58 (2) June 2012: 314-321 at 314-317.

Government in office after election: The Australian Labor Party government lost its majority in the House of Assembly at this election (2014), winning only 23 of the 47 seats in the Assembly; the Liberal Party gained 22 seats, and Independents 2. After negotiations with the leaders of the Labor and Liberal parties, Independent member Geoff Brock agreed to support the Labor Party and become a minister in a Labor Party and Independent coalition government which had a majority of 1 on the floor of the Assembly.

By agreeing to accept ministerial office, Geoff Brock became part of a coalition government; if he had simply agreed to support the Labor Party in the Assembly without becoming a minister, the government would have been a minority Labor government. Premier Weatherill became leader of an Australian Labor Party and Independent coalition government.

Independents and Independent (Brock): The votes and seats allocated to Independents in the table above were gained by candidates who ran for office at this election (2014) without any party affiliation. Of these Independent candidates, two were elected to the House of Assembly; Geoffrey Brock (electoral district of Frome), and Bob Such (electoral district of Fisher). As Brock agreed to support the government and accept a ministry, his votes and seat are shown separately. The vote for all Independents, including Brock, was 37,955.


Results calculated from the Electoral Commission of South Australia '2014 General Election Results', on line at: [accessed 4:00am 25 March 2014]