ID 1295

Parliament of South Australia, Assembly election

Show only vote and seat summary details

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series
General election for the Assembly South Australia 
Date of election (or first day of voting at elections held over more than one day) 20 March 2010

Government in office and parliamentary support before and after the election

Government in office at election

Premier in office at date of election. (check notes to see if change of Premier since previous election) Michael David Rann
Premier's party affiliation Australian Labor Party 
Assembly support for government at election Coalition (see notes)  
If coalition, coalition partner(s) National Party  

Government in office after election

Premier in office after election. Michael David Rann
Premier's party affiliation Australian Labor Party
Assembly support for government after election Majority 
If coalition, coalition partner(s)  

Enrolment and voting

Total number of voters on the roll 1,093,316 
Number of Assembly seats 47 
Number of uncontested seats
If uncontested seats, number of voters on the roll in uncontested seats  
Number of voters on the roll in contested seats 1,093,316 
Total ballots cast (may differ from number of votes in multiple voting systems) 1,014,431 
Turnout (rate of voting in contested seats) 92.78% 
Total valid votes 980,669 
Rate of informal (invalid) voting 3.33%
Informal (invalid) ballots in multiple voting system Not applicable
Electoral system Universal franchise (at 18 years from 1973), single member districts, preferential voting (AV), compulsory preferences, compulsory voting 


South Australia, Assembly votes and seats won

Election held on 20 March 2010
Criteria for the inclusion of parties in this table are set out in the Glossary under 'listed party'

Party Name First preference vote n First preference vote share % Change from previous election % Seats won n Uncontested seats held n Seat share %
Liberal Party 408,482  41.65  +7.68     18  38.30 
Australian Labor Party 367,480  37.47  -7.75     26  55.32 
Australian Greens 79,535  8.11  +1.62        
Family First 52,769  5.38  -0.50        
Independents 46,108  4.70  +2.73     6.38 
National Party 10,279  1.05  -1.04        
Save RAH [Royal Adelaide Hospital] Party 5,382  0.55  *        
Australian Democrats 3,682  0.38  -2.52        
Gamers 4 Croydon 1,962  0.20  *        
Fair Land Tax Party 1,819  0.19  *        
FREE Australia Party 1,497  0.15  *        
Dignity 4 Disability 1,348  0.14  *        
Democratic Labor Party 326  0.03  *        
Votes for other than listed parties 0.00  -0.70          
Totals 980,669  100.00    47  100.00 

Previous election in this series | Next election in this series | Display Chart

* Party did not contest previous election or did not meet criteria for listing, or contested previous election under a different party name.


Government at election: Although the Australian Labor Party under Premier Rann won a majority of seats at the previous election (2006), Rann and the Labor Party parliamentary members (the Labor caucus) chose to keep the reelected Independent member Rory McEwen and National Party member Karlene Maywald as ministers in the government under the same conditions negotiated at the time when these two non-Labor Party members originally joined the government in 2002 and 2004 (see note to 2006 House of Assembly) elections. As a result of this arrangement, Rann continued as premier of an Australian Labor Party, Independent and National Party coalition government until 2 March 2009 when McEwen left the ministry.

Government after election: After a closely contested election, the Rann Australian Labor Party government was returned with a majority of seats even though it won fewer first preference votes than the Liberal Party, and a new ministry was sworn in on 25 March 2010.

Australian Labor Party and Country Labor: The Australian Labor Party (South Australian Branch) registered the party name Country Labor Party in 1999. Eleven of the 47 Labor Party candidates at this election (2010) were fielded under the name 'Country Labor' in non-metropolitan electoral districts. These candidates won 52,209 votes (14.21 percent) of the total Australian Labor Party vote shown in the table above.

Independents: Twenty-two of the 253 candidates who ran for office at this election (2010) did so without any party affiliation and are listed as Independents in the table above. Of these 22 Independents, 16 linked the label 'Independent' with some other description or policy preference including one Independent Liberal. Three Independent candidates were elected to the House of Assembly; Geoffrey Brock (Frome), Don Pegler, (Mount Gambier), and Bob Such (Fisher).

Gamers 4 Croydon: This party grouping (abbreviation G4C) was formed to campaign against restrictions on video games.

FREE Australia Party: The registered full name of this party grouping was Freedom, Rights, Environment, Educate Australia Party.

References: For a survey of the election and its context, see Hayden Manning and Geoff Anderson, 'The 2010 South Australian State Election', Australian Journal of Political Science, 46 (1) March 2011: 157-166.


Electoral Commission of South Australia, Election Statistics South Australian Elections 20 March 2010, (Adelaide: Electoral Commission of South Australia, n.d., ISBN 9780980831009), Part 3. particularly Table 3.3, p. 243. [accessed 31 July 2011]